PDA

View Full Version : Connecting to the internet using UMA


Drivembig
06-13-2009, 07:19 AM
Hi, I am new to the Blackberry world and haven't fully figured this out yet. My data plan hasn't been activated yet. I have another week to wait. I am connected to my WI-FI in my house. It says UMA (in all caps) and the WI-FI is in black.

I still can't connect to the internet. Am I understanding this wrong that I can use the UMA to connect?

Thanks for all your help.

aiharkness
06-13-2009, 07:40 AM
Wirelessly posted (8820)

See http://www.blackberryfaq.com/index.php/BlackBerry_FAQ#Wifi_.2F_UMA_FAQ.27s.

Trimix
06-13-2009, 12:59 PM
You don't need to turn on UMA in order to connect to the internet. UMA/uma just gives you the ability to send/receive calls using a wifi connection.

But since you are able to connect to your wifi network at home, perhaps the problem might be your browser: Options>Advanced>Browser. Make sure the default browser config is wifi browser or hotspot.