PDA

View Full Version : Blackberry won't work w/any carrier


rozyjo
06-17-2009, 08:34 AM
My daughter's friend bought a blackberry on ebay, supposedly to use with Us Cellular. When he took it to US Cellular, they told him it was programmed for use w/Verizon.....so, he gave it to my daughter, who uses Verizon. When she tried to activate it w/Verizon....it would not activate there either. Anyone have any ideas about what the problem could be with this phone?

juwaack68
06-17-2009, 08:41 AM
What did Verizon say as the reason why it couldn't be activated?

jsconyers
06-17-2009, 09:01 AM
Welcome to the forums.

What does the screen show when it powers on? Does it show Verizon or US Cellular? Also, as juwaack68 asked, did Verizon give a reason?

rambo47
06-17-2009, 09:37 AM
At the same time, hold down Shift + Alt + H and see what the vendor ID is. Should be a three-digit number.

vendorID 100 T-Mobile
vendorID 102 Cingular US
vendorID 104 Sprint
vendorID 105 Verizon US
vendorID 107 Rogers
vendorID 109 Bell Mobility Canada
vendorID 111 O2
vendorID 115 TIM
vendorID 118 Vodafone
vendorID 119 Orange France
vendorID 120 Vodafone
vendorID 124 Vodafone
vendorID 125 O3
vendorID 130 Vodafone
vendorID 132 Vodafone
vendorID 133 Vodafone
vendorID 137 Vodafone
vendorID 138 Vodafone
vendorID 139 Vodafone
vendorID 140 Vodafone
vendorID 143 Vodafone
vendorID 148 Vodafone
vendorID 152 Vodafone
vendorID 153 Vodafone
vendorID 161 Vodafone
vendorID 166 Vodafone
vendorID 167 Vodafone
vendorID 168 Vodafone
vendorID 176 Vodafone
vendorID 188 Vodafone
vendorID 192 Vodafone
vendorID 193 Vodafone
vendorID 194 Vodafone
vendorID 195 Vodafone
vendorID 196 Vodafone
vendorID 197 Vodafone
vendorID 198 Vodafone
vendorID 199 Vodafone
vendorID 200 Vodafone
vendorID 231 Vodafone
vendorID 234 Vodafone
vendorID 235 Vodafone

The original vendor should activate it, unless it's been flashed to Cricket.

rozyjo
06-17-2009, 10:04 AM
Thanx.....I have a call in to my daughter, asking her those questions. I especially liked that code to see what carrier is listed. I'll update when she calls me back....I appreciate the help!

fonejunkie
06-17-2009, 10:26 AM
At one point, Verizon would not activate a 'used' phone on their service. I don't know if that is still the case... but it was SOP several years ago.

Motorcycle Mama
06-17-2009, 11:17 AM
Also, if the phone has it's ESN blocked for non-payment or because it was reported stolen or lost or if an insurance claim was placed on it, it will never be able to activated on Verizon.