PDA

View Full Version : I need some ideas and help for an 8350i.

KendallParis
09-07-2009, 08:30 PM
I have completely destroyed a partially destroyed 8350i.

This is my third BlackBerry, so I have some experience with one. I've even successfully completed a wipe before. I wasn't clueless about one until now.

A friend of mine bought a phone from a guy that supplies them to businesses, so it had never been activated. He initially had a Boost SIM in the phone and it was working just fine. At some point, another friend of his tells him about how he can get on the internet and I suppose he was trying to turn it into a BoostBerry.

He says that he was pushing various buttons and at some point, did something that permanently disabled the phone. Every time we went into Manage Connections, the check mark would appear and then disappear quickly. The red X stays there.

I was able to get online through WiFi and I successfully loaded the BoostBerry service books. After I did that, the Maps icon showed up and the icon that previously only said SMS, said SMS and MMS, so from what I could tell, only the phone was broken.

I thought that the problem was due to there being no entries under the Host Routing Tables, but I couldn't get any real assistance from Boost because they don't officially support the BlackBerry and Nextel is saying that the HRT has nothing to do with it and they can no longer troubleshoot a Nextel phone with a Boost SIM.

I was advised to do this:
Options>Avanced Options>Applications>Scroll down to phone and select it>press menu>Edit default permissions:
connections=allow
interactions =allow
user data=allow

But, it didn't get the phone working. At that point, I started looking elsewhere and noticed that the list under BlackBerry 4.6 Core Applications Properties didn't have the two modules that are listed when I looked under phone to change the permissions.

net_rim_bb_phone_api and net_rim_bb_phone_app were missing from the list.