PDA

View Full Version : Importing US 8700c into the UK

tug
12-02-2005, 09:54 AM
Hi, I'm considering buying an 8700c via Ebay and importing it into the UK. I'm new to BlackBerrys so I need some advice!

Will I be able to unlock a Cingular 8700c and drop a UK SIM in it?

Are there any mechanisms that would detect that I'm using another carrier's device in the UK then prevent me from using it?

If it makes any difference, we're using BES.

Any help would be appreciated.

Regards.

nb_mitch
12-02-2005, 10:58 AM
I thought I have seen some posts about them in France (8700f), wouldn't it be easy to take the train through that tube under the channel and pick one up and maybe avoid some huge trariffs and duty taxes?

tug
12-06-2005, 04:29 AM
I thought I have seen some posts about them in France (8700f), wouldn't it be easy to take the train through that tube under the channel and pick one up and maybe avoid some huge trariffs and duty taxes?

Thanks for that, I didn't know about the 8700f.

I'm still wondering though if there is some kind of network check that would prevent a 'foreign' 8700c from working in the UK (apart from the SIM lock).

Regards.

xombi
12-06-2005, 07:31 AM
If it was BIS, not only would the device need to be unlocked but the PIN and IMEI would need to be removed of the French networks systems and registered on the network's systems in the UK before you could set up a BIS email account in order to receive email, I'm not sure how it would work with BES but would imagine the network would have a similar check.

saldous
12-06-2005, 10:49 AM
My company is in the US and they are sending me a replacement BB8700 as my old 6280 has died. I currently have an AT&T SIM and use it for data only. I'm hoping I can drop in my O2 SIM and use it for data and voice. Time will tell. I hope to have it before the end of the week. (We have a BES server)

tug
12-06-2005, 11:26 AM
Perfect Saldous, any chance you could post here and let me know how you get on?

Regards.