PDA

View Full Version : BB - 2 Questions! Please Help

mANGo77
11-23-2009, 04:27 PM
First of all, hi to all of you. Very nice forum. I'm new to blackberry, just got a 8100 pearl and i'm stuck at something...please help me with some answers because i couldn't find something clearely using google. Many thanks...

1) How do i install/move/load a service book (.ipd extension) from my desktop to my blackberry phone?
2) When i want to install Opera Mini 5 or other java kits(apps/games), copying them from my pc to my media card and after install i got the "907" error altough i've installed a game (ParII Golf) that was a .jar! Does this problem has a solution or i have to manually convert the .jar to .cod files and then make an .alx and install through desktop manager? Is this how it works? How do i do that?

Please help...Thanks again!

MidnightDraven
11-23-2009, 04:36 PM
1. An ipd is a backup, a service book is something different.
What are you trying to do?

2. .jar or .jad files require the .cod files as well to be transfered to a media card to load.
Or you use .alx and .cod to load through Desktop Manager.

Try downloading games/themes etc etc from your blackberry, as this is how its supposed to be done with .jad files.

berryboozer
11-23-2009, 04:49 PM
thanks Midnightdraven...very helpful

mANGo77
11-23-2009, 04:56 PM
I don't have a blackberry special data plan so i can't use blackberry's native browser. That service book or .ipd is supposed to help me. So can i do something with it? Tommorow i will activate a normal data plan but that can't help me downloading through ota. I don't want email pushing i just want to use a browser. I don't have problems puting themes. The .jar's are the problem. So you say that if i download from a site a .jar using the browser it will install the aplication?
Where can i find the 4.5 OS, north american version to download to my pc?

Trimix
11-23-2009, 05:29 PM