PDA

View Full Version : HELP - new BBerry user on the 8700 - BT problem


Damian
12-09-2005, 04:21 PM
HELP - i just bought the 8700 - am a virgin bberry user and would really like to use the bluetooth sync option. After hours on the phone with a BB rep and time fidling around with the 3rd party usb bluetooth conector the BB rep finally said "you can't connect to the device via bluetooth b/c you are not an enterprise customer". Can anyone shed any light on this?

Oh - by the way - my bb is being recognized by the computer and vise versa but it connects then quickly disconnects??

NJBlackBerry
12-09-2005, 04:31 PM
I presume that you reviewed the documentation from RIM about which BT adapters are certified?

http://www.blackberry.com/knowledgecenterpublic/livelink.exe/fetch/2000/8021/1067148/1067313/How_To_-_Set_up_Bluetooth_PC_Connectivity.html?nodeid=1067250&vernum=0

Damian
12-09-2005, 04:48 PM
i have looked at that. Are you reading something that i did not see?

Anyone else having this problem?

Dalqa
12-09-2005, 05:18 PM
I have been playing around with this and here is what I have found so far:

When I purchased my 8700 I tried to sync with Bluetooth without success. It turned out I didn't have all the services under my bluetooth option required for BT sync to work. My device only listed Headset and Handsfree. After a bit of searching on this forum, I found others with this same problem. I read that to enable Bluetooth sync I also needed "Desktop Connectivity" and "Wireless Bypass" listed in the Bluetooth services. The only way I have found to enable these was to attach myself to our corporate BES server and set the following in the IT policy:

Disable Desktop Connectivity = false
Disable Wireless Bypass = false

This enabled the two missing services and I can now sync VIA Bluetooth. This is my personal device and I didn't want to deal with an itpolicy I can't personally control so I cleared the 8700 and removed the policy. I applied a blank policy and the two services I needed under Bluetooth were gone again (due to the default being TRUE I suppose). So far I have not had any luck enabling those services without the BES itpolicy. Unless someone else has found a way to enable this without BES, it seems your support person was correct.

Damian
12-09-2005, 05:24 PM
Fellow Newbie - thanks for the input. That answer should shoot you straight to "intermediate ranks"! I guess I am SOL.

If anyone finds a way to bypass this, please let me know.