PDA

View Full Version : 8700c Enterprise Activation Problem


caggie01
12-14-2005, 03:57 AM
I notice when I check my enterprise activation, everything shows completed excep, Email Settings and Email FIlters still show initalizing. It's been this way since Ipurchased the unit after TG. I'm on a BES took the SIM out of my cell and
put it in my 8700. This was a different number than my 7290 it's replacing.

I then went through the normal loading process with the desktop manager and it picked up the new PIN, etc. I seem to get emial and pone calls OK, the question is does the enterprie acitivation need to show all tasks as complete?

takeshi
12-14-2005, 08:55 AM
It should. Have you tried resetting the device and seeing if Enterprise Activation completes?

netPOSER
12-14-2005, 10:41 AM
I notice when I check my enterprise activation, everything shows completed excep, Email Settings and Email FIlters still show initalizing. It's been this way since Ipurchased the unit after TG. I'm on a BES took the SIM out of my cell and
put it in my 8700. This was a different number than my 7290 it's replacing.

I then went through the normal loading process with the desktop manager and it picked up the new PIN, etc. I seem to get emial and pone calls OK, the question is does the enterprie acitivation need to show all tasks as complete?

We rolled out 60 8700c's (Cingular) on our BES and had to 'Wipe' each one in order to successfully activate them. If you don't wipe them then they hang at 90% and all of your Exchange/Outlook categories hang on "Initializing".

It's only the 8700c's that do this as we got 17 new 7290's and they activated with no problems using the same BES.

caggie01
12-14-2005, 11:06 AM
What method did you use to wipe the units?

caggie01
12-14-2005, 11:07 AM
What happens if i continue to hang at initializing, I still get emial, etc?

saldous
12-14-2005, 01:19 PM
Just activated mine and worked perfectly. No wipe required.

PacketRat
12-14-2005, 04:11 PM
There is a known issue with activation on BES. It seems that doing the security wipe from security options works. Goto security options, general then push wheel in and select wipe handheld then reprovision and it works.

Grimlin
12-15-2005, 10:49 AM
There is a known issue with activation on BES. It seems that doing the security wipe from security options works. Goto security options, general then push wheel in and select wipe handheld then reprovision and it works.

Had to do the same on all three of ours. Works like a champ after wipe. Unfortunately, it wasn't a "known issue" when I had the problem a few weeks back and support was clueless. Had to figure it out on my own. (n) Oh well...

johnwiz
12-19-2005, 10:13 PM
Just had three new 8700cs that went through the same issue.. All three were new Blackberry accounts and all three had various amounts of email on the server.. The BES showed anywhere from 4 to 300 emails forwarded when it hung..

Did the wipe and they all completed activation..

caggie01
12-19-2005, 10:23 PM
I did the wipe and everrything works great. Also, went to Cingular store, they put a 64K Smart Chip (SIM) in and it seems to work better, especially the phone.