PDA

View Full Version : New user considering Blackberry

firechicken
01-04-2006, 09:34 AM
I figured if anyone could help you would. I am a supervisory law enforcement officer and have a Motorola V551 with the Cingular network. I use my phone while on duty. My phone typically take some abuse regularly.

I used to own a Palm T2 but got rid of it after the digitizer broke. I am now looking at getting a Blackberry 7280 used.

I would be using the phone to hold my e-mail from my office Outlook as well as store some photo's for work, keep all my appointments as well as our "community calendar" and small document files. I am not interested in wireless e-mail. I would like to only sync with a USB cable. In your opinion will the Blackberry fit my needs? Are there any special concerns that I should weigh first?

Thanks for any and all help.

whsbuss
01-04-2006, 09:57 AM
I figured if anyone could help you would. I am a supervisory law enforcement officer and have a Motorola V551 with the Cingular network. I use my phone while on duty. My phone typically take some abuse regularly.

I used to own a Palm T2 but got rid of it after the digitizer broke. I am now looking at getting a Blackberry 7280 used.

I would be using the phone to hold my e-mail from my office Outlook as well as store some photo's for work, keep all my appointments as well as our "community calendar" and small document files. I am not interested in wireless e-mail. I would like to only sync with a USB cable. In your opinion will the Blackberry fit my needs? Are there any special concerns that I should weigh first?

Thanks for any and all help.

I think you best bet is to get another PDA like the Palm. The Blackberry is geared towards wireless email delivery. Storing photos can only be accomplished by email attachment or web browsing.

d_fisher
01-04-2006, 11:12 AM
Or maybe a smart phone that you can add files\pictures to via a USB connection.

Doug

torifile
01-04-2006, 02:09 PM