PDA

View Full Version : Which Browser ?

bjh
01-24-2006, 01:06 PM
Hi there

I'm using Cingular, and I have two browsers on the 8700 - the cingular one and the Internet (Rim?) browser. Why two ? Which one is better, in your opinion ? do any of you use yet another browser ?

Thanks

Brian

(Apologies if this is a common question, but I didn't spot it...)

justin.culp
01-24-2006, 02:10 PM
The cingular one is a WAP browser where the blackberry browser is HTML.

RZMedia
01-24-2006, 02:53 PM
The cingular one is a WAP browser where the blackberry browser is HTML.

I am new to this...which is better? WAP or HTML?

tmass
01-24-2006, 03:10 PM
The wap browser is for the "wireless access protocal" sites...kinda mini me sites. They were setup for mobiles and the browser is geared more for them. The other browser is set to run regular sites and does a pretty darn good job too.

Seattle18
01-24-2006, 03:53 PM
To get a visual difference, open the browser labelled "Internet Browser" and go to www.blackberryforums.com, then open the one labelled "Cingular Browser" and go to wap.blackberryforums.com (not www.). You will see that the wap version is just like said above, kind of a mini me version of a browser. Less fancy, more of a meat-and-potatoes thing, usually faster since it doesn't render bunches of images, etc. You'll see.

RZMedia
01-24-2006, 03:58 PM
To get a visual difference, open the browser labelled "Internet Browser" and go to www.blackberryforums.com, then open the one labelled "Cingular Browser" and go to wap.blackberryforums.com (not www.). You will see that the wap version is just like said above, kind of a mini me version of a browser. Less fancy, more of a meat-and-potatoes thing, usually faster since it doesn't render bunches of images, etc. You'll see.

Which do you use the most?

Seattle18
01-24-2006, 04:39 PM
Which do you use the most?