PDA

View Full Version : Help With Address Book Restore Please!


djdulong
01-30-2006, 11:34 AM
The IS&T guy for my company told me I needed to wipe my handheld in order to fix a problem with getting my 8700C sync'ed with our BES- so I did. But before doing this, I backed my device up.

Now, when I try to restore the address book only (via. the Advanced options), the right arrow is greyed out and I cannot restore just the address book... So I just tried to restore everything and my address book would not restore.

I've got several contacts in there. Any idea on how I can "force" the Desktop software to restore my address book?

Thanks in advance!
Dave

bpdunsta
01-30-2006, 12:00 PM
The IS&T guy for my company told me I needed to wipe my handheld in order to fix a problem with getting my 8700C sync'ed with our BES- so I did. But before doing this, I backed my device up.

Now, when I try to restore the address book only (via. the Advanced options), the right arrow is greyed out and I cannot restore just the address book... So I just tried to restore everything and my address book would not restore.

I've got several contacts in there. Any idea on how I can "force" the Desktop software to restore my address book?

Thanks in advance!
Dave

I sync my BB with Lotus Notes. Based on the settings with the BES, I cannot reload a saved off copy of any of the PIM applications that sync with Notes. But, since the BB syncs with those applications, the Address Book, etc. do get reloaded with whatever is on the Notes server.

Does that make sense?

johnson_hsu
01-30-2006, 02:49 PM
The IS&T guy for my company told me I needed to wipe my handheld in order to fix a problem with getting my 8700C sync'ed with our BES- so I did. But before doing this, I backed my device up.

Now, when I try to restore the address book only (via. the Advanced options), the right arrow is greyed out and I cannot restore just the address book... So I just tried to restore everything and my address book would not restore.

I've got several contacts in there. Any idea on how I can "force" the Desktop software to restore my address book?

Thanks in advance!
Dave

try this.
1) disconnect bb from desktop mananger
2) in address book, under options, disable "wireless sync"
3) reconnect to desktop manager

does this solve your problem?

ps. remember to re-enable "wireless sync" once you're restored the contacts

djdulong
01-30-2006, 07:15 PM
That was the ticket!!! Disabling wireless sync did the trick!

Thank you!