PDA

View Full Version : My 8700c has an identity crisis


dc/dc
01-31-2006, 12:59 PM
Well, I currently am using an 8700c, unlocked, on the T-Mobile USA network, running Vodafone package 4.1.0.211. I also enabled the O2, Orange, and Vodafone themes.

Enjoy! :)

http://img297.imageshack.us/img297/6534/8700o26xa.jpg

http://img375.imageshack.us/img375/225/8700vodafone4fb.jpg

TRIdad
01-31-2006, 01:04 PM
nice...i may have to download some themes on my new 8700 which arrived today compliments of Amazon!

After the rebate, my total net cost is -$0.01
They actually paid me one cent to take delivery of the thing...how could I refuse? :smile:

Seattle18
01-31-2006, 02:01 PM
Oh, that did it dc/dc, you just haaaaad to rub it in! After all that trouble I had yesterday trying to get that to work, you go and post some killer pics just to get me going again! DAMN!

Ok, now that I am over that, I am going to try again, but this time by installing the Vodafone package first. Now, just to be sure, is it a simple process? I assume you did it with no issues? Are there things to be wary of? Will it affect radio signal? Will it affect anything? If something goes wrong is it easy to revert back to original settings?

dc/dc
01-31-2006, 02:29 PM
Oh, that did it dc/dc, you just haaaaad to rub it in! After all that trouble I had yesterday trying to get that to work, you go and post some killer pics just to get me going again! DAMN!

Ok, now that I am over that, I am going to try again, but this time by installing the Vodafone package first. Now, just to be sure, is it a simple process? I assume you did it with no issues? Are there things to be wary of? Will it affect radio signal? Will it affect anything? If something goes wrong is it easy to revert back to original settings?

:P

I had no issues at all, and out of the loads I have used on my 8700, the Vodafone one seems to be the best. Just follow all the instructions in the 4.x upgrade thread and you will be good to go. :) And yes, it is easy to go back if you need. Be sure and back up your device before loading though.

Seattle18
01-31-2006, 02:44 PM
I ran the intall file on my PC, then opened the DM but nothing seemed to happen. Should something have ocurred on the DM portion?

tfaz1
01-31-2006, 02:44 PM
Can we get these themes OTA?

sedated
01-31-2006, 03:04 PM
:P

I had no issues at all, and out of the loads I have used on my 8700, the Vodafone one seems to be the best. Just follow all the instructions in the 4.x upgrade thread and you will be good to go. :) And yes, it is easy to go back if you need. Be sure and back up your device before loading though.

Do you mean the Vodafone software or theme is the best, and why? I am just curious since I am new to Blackberries.

Seattle18
01-31-2006, 03:19 PM
WOOOOOOW! I just installed the Vodafone build and unlocked the O2, Vodafone and Orange themes! AWESOME! Everything went very smoothly. During the upgrade it backed up my personal settings and reinstalled them, so when it was finished I looked at the BB and it still had my custom MacBerry theme and icons on it, so I wasn;t sure if it took. But when I went to the Themes section, all four (O2 has List and Icon) new ones were there. They all look great, too. Kinda makes me upset that Cingular's looks so crappy compared to them. Not sure which one is my fav yet - will take some time. But since they are all so different, I will probably rotate through all three icon versions, plus my MacBerry version. BIG thanks to dc/dc for his help through this - it was well worth it!

(BTW - The Vodafone is cool because it has the name of each program show on the top just under the Cingular label instead of at the bottm of the screen when you scroll through them...

Also, several new background colored images appear in the Pictures section as well - very nice!)

dc/dc
01-31-2006, 03:27 PM
Do you mean the Vodafone software or theme is the best, and why? I am just curious since I am new to Blackberries.

Software.

dc/dc
01-31-2006, 03:27 PM
WOOOOOOW! I just installed the Vodafone build and unlocked the O2, Vodafone and Orange themes! AWESOME! Everything went very smoothly. During the upgrade it backed up my personal settings and reinstalled them, so when it was finished I looked at the BB and it still had my custom MacBerry theme and icons on it, so I wasn;t sure if it took. But when I went to the Themes section, all four (O2 has List and Icon) new ones were there. They all look great, too. Kinda makes me upset that Cingular's looks so crappy compared to them. Not sure which one is my fav yet - will take some time. But since they are all so different, I will probably rotate through all three icon versions, plus my MacBerry version. BIG thanks to dc/dc for his help through this - it was well worth it!
(BTW - The Vodafone is cool because it has the name of each program show on the top just under the Cingular label instead of at the bottm of the screen when you scroll through them...)

Glad everything worked out for you. :)

sghemati
01-31-2006, 03:28 PM
Hi,
Loaded the same package (4.1.0.211), checked in my themes, and didn't "get" them (only new pics for home screen image),
Checked in my apploader directory, and don't get .alx themes (i.e. Vodafone or Orange),
Any hints / help / advise? Thanks!

Seattle18
01-31-2006, 03:33 PM
Hi,
Loaded the same package (4.1.0.211), checked in my themes, and didn't "get" them (only new pics for home screen image),
Checked in my apploader directory, and don't get .alx themes (i.e. Vodafone or Orange),
Any hints / help / advise? Thanks!
I have to step out for an hour or so, so unless you get it resolved before then, I will guide you when I get back.

dc/dc
01-31-2006, 03:40 PM
Hi,
Loaded the same package (4.1.0.211), checked in my themes, and didn't "get" them (only new pics for home screen image),
Checked in my apploader directory, and don't get .alx themes (i.e. Vodafone or Orange),
Any hints / help / advise? Thanks!

You won't find alx files just for the themes. You will need to enable them in the file "blackberry.alx".

See this thread for all the info:
http://blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?t=24485

mezorn26
01-31-2006, 03:53 PM
nice...i may have to download some themes on my new 8700 which arrived today compliments of Amazon!

After the rebate, my total net cost is -$0.01
They actually paid me one cent to take delivery of the thing...how could I refuse? :smile:



You signed up for both voice and data plans?

tfaz1
01-31-2006, 04:19 PM
You signed up for both voice and data plans?

I believe you have to sign up for a 2 year contract (voice + data) to get this deal.

sghemati
01-31-2006, 04:31 PM
Great! Thanks! Was a bit 'delicate' (first time I did the editing in notepad), but worked! Take care

dc/dc
01-31-2006, 04:40 PM
Great! Thanks! Was a bit 'delicate' (first time I did the editing in notepad), but worked! Take care

No prob. Happy to help. :)

sabesh
02-01-2006, 12:57 AM
Thx all! I managed to get the themes unlocked. I did get an "Uncaught exception: java.lang.Error" message after the bootup (after modifying & loading the blackberry.alx file). I clicked "OK" on the dialog box and haven't gotten the message again. All 4 themes are unlocked and work perfectly. I did not get any new pictures 'though (not sure what I'm doing wrong). Here are the homescreens if anyone else is thinking about trying this:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v126/sabesh/Misc/o2_icon.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v126/sabesh/Misc/vodafone.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v126/sabesh/Misc/orange.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v126/sabesh/Misc/o2_list.jpg

Seattle18
02-01-2006, 01:40 AM
Check out my two modified themes, the MacBerry BlackBerry and the Vodafone with the White BBTiles background:

http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e177/seattle18/MacBerryBlackBerry.jpg



http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e177/seattle18/Vodafonebbbackground.jpg

sedated
02-01-2006, 07:29 AM
A couple questions.

Is there any way to get these themes as OTA install?

Is there any way to use a custom icon set with any theme or does it have to be hard coded into the theme what icons it uses?

Any help would be great.

saldous
02-01-2006, 08:06 AM
How do I get the O2 theme?

dc/dc
02-01-2006, 08:42 AM
A couple questions.

Is there any way to get these themes as OTA install?

Is there any way to use a custom icon set with any theme or does it have to be hard coded into the theme what icons it uses?

Any help would be great.

No and no. You cannot modify these because they were esentially hard-coded into the software.

Please see the link I provided earlier in the thread for more info on how to get these enabled.

How do I get the O2 theme?

Please see the link I provided earlier in the thread for more info on how to get these enabled.

dc/dc
02-01-2006, 08:44 AM
Thx all! I managed to get the themes unlocked. I did get an "Uncaught exception: java.lang.Error" message after the bootup (after modifying & loading the blackberry.alx file). I clicked "OK" on the dialog box and haven't gotten the message again. All 4 themes are unlocked and work perfectly. I did not get any new pictures 'though (not sure what I'm doing wrong). Here are the homescreens if anyone else is thinking about trying this

I did not get new pictures either, and I'm not sure that we are supposed to. I am, however, going to read through blackberry.alx some more today to see about enabling other carriers' boot screens.

TRIdad
02-01-2006, 10:24 AM
yes...2 year contract with Cingular through Amazon = free 8700c

ExtMtnBkr
02-01-2006, 11:38 AM
Check out my two modified themes, the MacBerry BlackBerry and the Vodafone with the White BBTiles background:

http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e177/seattle18/MacBerryBlackBerry.jpg



http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e177/seattle18/Vodafonebbbackground.jpg

where can i get that macberry theme you created? i really like it!

Seattle18
02-01-2006, 12:19 PM
where can i get that macberry theme you created? i really like it!
Here is the link for the MacBerry theme:

http://www.millenniastudio.com/MacBerry8700.html

And I used this modified BlackBerry on Black background that MegaBit made for me as the background replacement so that I have the BlackBerry black background and still keep the Apple icon on top - looks very nice.

http://www.blackberryforums.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=1337

stoxx
02-01-2006, 12:57 PM
Here is the link for the MacBerry theme:

http://www.millenniastudio.com/MacBerry8700.html

And I used this modified BlackBerry on Black background that MegaBit made for me as the background replacement so that I have the BlackBerry black background and still keep the Apple icon on top - looks very nice.

http://www.blackberryforums.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=1337

Awesome! Thanks for putting it out there

Cheers

ExtMtnBkr
02-01-2006, 01:14 PM
thanks!

can I ask another dumb question - I am having trouble unlocking the vodaphone O2 and tmobile themes, im trying to follow the threads linked above but i cant find that blackberry.alx file

can any of you you offer any advice?

dc/dc
02-01-2006, 01:27 PM
thanks!

can I ask another dumb question - I am having trouble unlocking the vodaphone O2 and tmobile themes, im trying to follow the threads linked above but i cant find that blackberry.alx file

can any of you you offer any advice?

C:\program files\common files\research in motion\shared\loader

dc/dc
02-01-2006, 01:28 PM
My 7105 also has an identity crisis:

http://blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?t=25328

ExtMtnBkr
02-01-2006, 02:46 PM
C:\program files\common files\research in motion\shared\loader

all i have in common files\research in motion\ is:

AppLoader
Modem Drivers
RIMDeviceManager
USB Drivers

any advice?

dc/dc
02-01-2006, 02:54 PM
all i have in common files\research in motion\ is:

AppLoader
Modem Drivers
RIMDeviceManager
USB Drivers

any advice?

Yes. You don't have any handheld code downloaded. What type of device do you have and who is your carrier?

KonTiki
02-01-2006, 02:54 PM
Just do a general search for *.alx and see where the Blackberry one is, if its not there then the question is do you or where did you install the desktop manager and the nadheld software?

ExtMtnBkr
02-01-2006, 03:01 PM
Yes. You don't have any handheld code downloaded. What type of device do you have and who is your carrier?


Just do a general search for *.alx and see where the Blackberry one is, if its not there then the question is do you or where did you install the desktop manager and the nadheld software?

I have an 8700c on cingular

a general search for *.alx returns no blackberry.alx file, i installed the desktop manager locally on my c: drive, the handheld software I am using came on the device

dc/dc
02-01-2006, 03:09 PM
I have an 8700c on cingular

a general search for *.alx returns no blackberry.alx file, i installed the desktop manager locally on my c: drive, the handheld software I am using came on the device

You will need to download the code for the Vodafone 8700v if you wish to use these themes. See Mark's thread in the RIM Software sub-forum.

ExtMtnBkr
02-01-2006, 03:21 PM
You will need to download the code for the Vodafone 8700v if you wish to use these themes. See Mark's thread in the RIM Software sub-forum.

so if i backup my device and download:

Hong Kong CSL - Download - English, but Supports Chinese Characters
8700c Apps 4.1.0.258 | 7290 Apps 4.1.0.256 | 7230 Apps 4.0.2.49

and then delete the vendor.xml prior to running desktop mgr, i should be good to go?

can someone confirm that they have done this and not crashed their BB?

Inphektion
02-01-2006, 03:44 PM
yes, many do that...

ExtMtnBkr
02-01-2006, 03:48 PM
yes, many do that...

does that seem to be the best option now or are there alternatives (possibly better)?

Seattle18
02-01-2006, 04:46 PM
I don't know about the Hong Kong version, I got a different one myself.

ExtMtnBkr
02-01-2006, 04:50 PM
I don't know about the Hong Kong version, I got a different one myself.

which version did you use? do you have a link to download it? i am a little nervous about putting that hong kong version on myself

dc/dc
02-01-2006, 05:11 PM
which version did you use? do you have a link to download it? i am a little nervous about putting that hong kong version on myself

Dude. I'm not trying to be mean, but did you not read my post? I specifically said to use the Vodafone version.

https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads/entry.do?code=1141938BA2C2B13F5505D7C424EBAE5F

sabesh
02-01-2006, 06:54 PM
Also, several new background colored images appear in the Pictures section as well - very nice!)
Hey,

Can you let us know the names of some of the new pics you see? Just curious to know if I already have them 'cos I didn't see any new ones after my blackberry.alx mod.

Thanks,

Sabesh.

stoxx
02-01-2006, 06:59 PM
I have the Hong Kong software on my 8700.

I had no problem unlocking the Cingular, O2, Orange, and Vodafone themes

ExtMtnBkr
02-01-2006, 07:12 PM
thanks guys

Seattle18
02-01-2006, 07:32 PM
Hey,

Can you let us know the names of some of the new pics you see? Just curious to know if I already have them 'cos I didn't see any new ones after my blackberry.alx mod.

Thanks,

Sabesh.
BBFlyby-Orange
BBFlyby-Yellow
BBTiles-Lime (also Orange, Spruce and White)

Since you are with Rogers, these may be standard for you. They are not in Cingular's version.

sabesh
02-01-2006, 08:18 PM
BBFlyby-Orange
BBFlyby-Yellow
BBTiles-Lime (also Orange, Spruce and White)

Since you are with Rogers, these may be standard for you. They are not in Cingular's version.
Yep, I have all three. Thanks for confirming. Sabesh.

ExtMtnBkr
02-01-2006, 09:00 PM
so i did the vodaphone upgrade and now i lost my internet and cingular browserr and the other themes still dont work

can someone help me get my browsers back??? please!

dc/dc
02-01-2006, 09:27 PM
so i did the vodaphone upgrade and now i lost my internet and cingular browserr and the other themes still dont work

can someone help me get my browsers back??? please!

copy and paste your alx file so we can see how it looks.

Also, to get the browsers, resend your service books.

ExtMtnBkr
02-01-2006, 11:13 PM
im no longer at work so i cant copy the alx file

resending my svc book got back the internet browser, is there a way to get back the cingular browser? - not as necessary but it would be nice to have

dc/dc
02-02-2006, 01:12 AM
im no longer at work so i cant copy the alx file

resending my svc book got back the internet browser, is there a way to get back the cingular browser? - not as necessary but it would be nice to have

It should have showed up with the service books.

ExtMtnBkr
02-02-2006, 11:08 AM
I resent the internet browsing and mail service books from the BIS web interface. the internet browser came back with the service books but the cingular browser did not

does anyone have other suggestions?

thanks

Figment
02-02-2006, 05:07 PM
Sweet! This finally got rid of all those themes I didn't want.


Thanks!

edrill4000
02-04-2006, 11:32 AM
i'm with tmobile for years,been drooling over the 8700c but don't want to join Cingular,i have a 7105 now,could you explain how you did it?
so you order an unlocked 8700c from? and load vodafone software?
please walk me through,thank you!
sorry for being annoying!

sophia
02-10-2006, 07:38 PM
current have a sidekick 2 and looking to buy an unlocked 8700c to use on tmibile network in US. Is this just as simple as.

1. buy unlocked 8700c
2. signup for BB service (voice and dataplan) thru tmo
3. lock and load?

Obviously I could go get a free 7290 bb but if I can find an 8700 for a good price worth the extra flash.

Thanks for letting me know if this plan can be sucessful before I throw down 300-500 for the 8700.

Too bad Cingular data plan is twice the price it should be. The Amazon deal is great, but not for $90+ a month

dc/dc
02-10-2006, 09:52 PM
Yes, it is that simple.

sophia
02-10-2006, 10:39 PM
I appreciate your help. I really enjoy reading your posts. Very good information.

richard371
02-15-2006, 12:36 PM
What are the instructions for loading the vodaphone theme on the 8700c and getting the Themes to show up etc?

dc/dc
02-15-2006, 11:15 PM
What are the instructions for loading the vodaphone theme on the 8700c and getting the Themes to show up etc?

Not to sound rude, but in this thread there are links to the instructions. I'm not typing them out again.

Oh yeah, the company's name is Vodafone.

Nick Starr
03-05-2006, 06:25 PM
I have a question, I was going to replace my Sidekick II with a Blackberry, but with this option of using the 8700 I am excited to find out about this.

I do have a question, does the T-Mobile US EDGE service work on this model, since it is not technically a supported. This would make my decision much easier, since I am pretty sick of T-Mobile's slow GPRS network.

Thank you for your reply.

DuckWingDuck
03-05-2006, 07:14 PM
Yes, EDGE does work for the 8700, an simple search would have also turned that up for you.

dc/dc
03-05-2006, 09:16 PM
Yes, EDGE does work for the 8700, an simple search would have also turned that up for you.

Thank you sir.

b3n_asian_freak
09-24-2006, 10:53 AM
Seattle18, i saw a Google icon on your bb, i wonder what app. is that?