PDA

View Full Version : How does the POP3 Email work on a BB?

Ximat
02-21-2006, 12:33 PM
Im new to BB's and don't understand how the email works. The cingular place said it pushes the email to your BB so you can't download it through outlook when you return to the office. Can someone explain this to me?

TIA

go2duke
02-21-2006, 12:44 PM
The BIS/BWC (Web client) gets your email via pop and pushes it to your BB. It doesn't delete it off your pop server unless you want it to.

Works likea champ.. basically checks your mail server every 15 mins and sends you whatever is there except for anything you have filters set up for.

-G2D

Wiseass
02-21-2006, 12:46 PM
Im new to BB's and don't understand how the email works. The cingular place said it pushes the email to your BB so you can't download it through outlook when you return to the office. Can someone explain this to me?

TIA

When you register on the BIS (blackberry Internet service)

http://webclient.blackberry.net/WebMail/Window.jsp?site=mycingular

you can setup which POP accounts to pull mail from (up to 10 I believe?) Gmail, ISP like Comcast, SBC, etc, Yahoo (you have to pay for the POP3 access to yahoo, and others).

The BIS goes out and gets the email (you provide the login info to the pop account in the BIS setup) and then forwards it to your device.

I think you can still download the information from the account using outlook, but you need to make sure that if there's an option in the BIS to leave the documents on the server you have that on. If it deletes them from the server after getting them and forwarding to the blackberry, there will be nothing to get with outlook.

I use it to forward my gmail to the bb, and it leaves it in my gmail account.

havn't tried it with my comcast, i dont use that email address as it is.

johnfromphilly
02-21-2006, 12:48 PM