PDA

View Full Version : Dial-by-name the way the 7290 used to work?


Vindicator
03-06-2006, 08:41 PM
Okay - this is kinda annoying. In phone mode, I start typing letters of a contact name the way the 7290 works. Instead, it ignores the letters and only responds to numbers as if I'm dialing numerically.

The 8700 seems to want an extra menu selection (dial from address book) to do what the 7290 did intuitively when the selector was in the list of names area.

Is there any way to get this behavior back?

Thanks!

hf1khal
03-06-2006, 08:43 PM
Just press and hold the talk button and it will bring up the dial by name.

Vindicator
03-06-2006, 08:47 PM
BTW, I think I got one of the first 8700G's in North America.

Not sure what the difference between the 8700C and G is, but a RIM exec gave me one and it's outstanding!

hf1khal
03-06-2006, 08:47 PM
also look at Stinsonddog's (http://www.blackberryforums.com/member.php?u=4038) profile he has a link for his guide to short cut tips for the 8700.

blake.blake
03-06-2006, 09:05 PM
im looking for the same thing. in the older os's you could hit space from the home screen to get into your phonebook, then type a name and it would come up, i miss this also

hf1khal
03-06-2006, 09:12 PM
im looking for the same thing. in the older os's you could hit space from the home screen to get into your phonebook, then type a name and it would come up, i miss this also

With the 8700 you hust hold the talk key for a couple seconds and it will open that for you.

Seattle18
03-06-2006, 09:48 PM
Or just hit the "A" key and type the name. Same as pressing the Space on the older unit.

mhab12
03-28-2006, 05:10 PM
Anyway to get this behavior back in the 7290...I seem to have lost it as well, the sad thing is I don't have a 'talk' button.

saldous
03-28-2006, 05:26 PM
I programmed the middle button to open up my contacts.

mhab12
03-28-2006, 05:42 PM
No middle button...

coreyg510
03-28-2006, 05:56 PM
http://www.blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?t=29137