PDA

View Full Version : Blackberry 8700 browser Vs Palm 650 Browser


Dazed
03-07-2006, 11:16 PM
I was wondering if anyone has experince on both these browsers and can tell me which one is best for surfing. Ive heard that blackberry has problems with tables on sites such as expedia. Does the Palm have the same troubles?

Im really torn between these two. Ive tried the blackberry briefly and loved the feel of the keyboard (apart from the fact the . character does not have its own dedicated key).


Thanks

coreyg510
03-07-2006, 11:18 PM
If you were comparing the 650 to the BB7290 i would have said the 650 because of the "computer like" browser that it uses. But now that the 8700c uses a better looking browser and has better speed than the 650, I have to say 8700c hands down

Dazed
03-11-2006, 06:13 AM
I was playing with a treo and noticed it wouldnt load the expedia.com website (gave a non supported browser message). Is this the same with the Blackberry ?

Im now concerned than many sites i want to visit such as banking sites and Amazon.com will not be accessable to me. Does the bb browser support https, ssl etc etc ?

Thanks. I hope to purchase in next few days :)

drgoodtymes
03-11-2006, 01:19 PM
I find the blackberry browswer to be just fine. I have it set to emulate Internet Explorer, and I can get on my Banks secured site, I have never had a problem with Amazon or yahoo, use yahoo maps and yellow pages all the time. Plus with EDGE its pretty darn quick.

phonemonkey
03-11-2006, 02:48 PM
The BB browser supports https with no problem -- you may need to change a setting if you visit sites with self-signed SSL certificates, at least if you are on a BES. You can also enable support for (some) JavaScript, which helps with compatibility with some sites. Check out the browser options screen from inside the browser.

The only bad thing about the BB browser is when you browse backwards to a large page -- it seems to have to reload the whole page to get you back to where you left off.

justin.culp
03-13-2006, 10:04 AM
Yeah...it would be nice to be able to control cache size....maybe I'm missing something.

bobhammer
03-13-2006, 10:18 AM
as i know, you can set the cache size for the bb, the default one is with 1mb!

That70sGAdawg
03-16-2006, 01:08 PM
And a Blackberry 8700 with the new opera Mini browser is FAST. I just wish I could get the font bolder...

justin.culp
03-16-2006, 01:23 PM
And a Blackberry 8700 with the new opera Mini browser is FAST. I just wish I could get the font bolder...

You on cingular? Any add. charges? Thinking about getting opera min.

Thanks.

That70sGAdawg
03-16-2006, 07:53 PM
I'm on Cingular and there have not been any added charges beyond my Blackberry Unlimited. I checked my account online for any extra data charges also since I've only been using it for a couple of weeks.

I have timed duplicate web site with the built in browser and Opera is almost twice as fast on EDGE. You must have good eyesight, as the font is small and thin.