PDA

View Full Version : BB Connection via Exchange Server

grd
03-08-2006, 01:33 PM
Hi

Apologies
Forgive me if this is not the correct forum but I am a complete newbie to the world of Blackberries and I’m not sure where to place this query. I’m sure I will be moved if deemed necessary.

Introduction
I am IT Manager to a small company. We are running MS Server 2003 with Exchange Server as part of the Small Business Server setup and Outlook 2003 on the client machines.

Problem
I have been asked by one of our partners for a Blackberry to retrieve and send his e-mails as he spends a lot of time out of the office without his laptop. He also has the facility to use Outlook Web Access but I guess that isn’t cool enough.

Question
Is it possible to have a single or maybe several, once others have seen it, Blackberries linked to our system via the Exchange Server and syncronised with his laptop ideally without major cost and/or setup issues? In this question, I’m assuming it would be possible to have all your emails, sent and received, together on both laptop and Blackberry.

What will the minimum requirements be if this is possible?

Regards

Graham

PS what are the chances of RIM, or at least the Blackberry system not surviving the recent court case in the States?

hbomb341
03-08-2006, 02:00 PM
Hi
PS what are the chances of RIM, or at least the Blackberry system not surviving the recent court case in the States?

Well I think it is SLIM, since the case was settled last Friday. You must of been locked in a server room or under a rock.

You are in luck a Blackberry can get e-mail VIA OWA. You just have to configure his BIS account to download his e-mail. OR if you have a POP server again the BIS can be configured to downlaod from there.

Feel free to PM/PIN/E-mail me if you have any questions or need help. Also, this is a GREAT place for answer jsut search first.

grd
03-08-2006, 02:27 PM