PDA

View Full Version : ARGH!!!DUST!!!!!!Enough Already! I Promise A Solution!

delmarco
03-22-2006, 09:23 PM
So my 8700c came today via UPS. It was sealed and brand new in the box. I took it out and then looked at it, leaving the plastic on I had it charging for a hour or so whiles I went to grab a bite to eat and read the paper work that came it the box. I went back to my new $400.00 device and peeled the plastic off, turned it on, tried it out in the OEM holster, and played around with it for about 10 minutes before I turned it off to put it back in the box (I still need to unlock it for my Tmo sim card)

Of course I saw a few specks of dust at the top edges of the screen...
WTF!!!!!

Listen...This is not a rant, as an engineering student, I promise to find a solution to this annoyance!

I already have a great lead...
http://www.blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?t=29433

BTW...The 8700c was from the latest batch out of the RIM factory.

oyster rsx
03-22-2006, 09:28 PM
BTW...The 8700c was from the latest batch out of the RIM factory.

how do you know? i have also just recieved a new one a week ago and it has dust as well very annoying...

delmarco
03-22-2006, 09:34 PM
I know the seller, he works at cingular and made sure I got the most recent one, from the most recent delivery from RIM.

At least I'm hoping. But I'm sure I can trust him.

yustonuser
03-22-2006, 09:52 PM
Guys - are you saying you got dust underneath the screen after 10 minutes? Or dust collected on the screen itself? Its a phone y'all - dust and smears are going to collect on the screen no matter what. Am I missing something? My new 8700 has tons of smears from when I talk on it but it doesn;t appear to be anything underneath the actual screen itself. Can you clarify?

coreyg510
03-22-2006, 09:54 PM
mine has scratches dust and finger prints. I just wipe it off on my shirt or pants and keep right on trucking.

IMO this is a little to nitt picky, but to each their own.

delmarco