PDA

View Full Version : Dumb newbie ? Please help on phone choice

itsmebryan
04-30-2006, 11:56 AM
Hi I just found this site and it's great. Here what's my problem. On May 17 my wife and I are going to the UK, France, Amsterdam, and Germany. I have a Cingular plan with a Nokia N-gage:oops: . Don't laugh it's a great phone it plays movie, radio,mp3, Bluetooth comm. and data, PC sync, and can run emulater(SNEs, gameboy, etc...). I ordered a Holux 236 bluetooth GPS. I found gps software for this phone and maps for all the countries I am going to and even mapping software that even shows you which train or bus to take point by point to get to anywhere in theese country. Only problem I found out my phone is only daul band and not tri-band like I thought and will not work overseas:sad: . So I need a new phone. I'm new to PDA type phones so I would like some input. Right now Cingular has for ugrade the Blackberry(BB) 8700c $300 or refurb. $150 or the Cingular 8125 (it's a pocket pc, runs windows moble 5 and has wi-fi g built-in) for $300. Both are quad band and will work overseas both phone and internet. Which do you think is a better OS BB or WM 5? How good is the web browsing with the BB? I know windows so that why I'm asking about BB. I plan to use the phone to help my keep track of bills and my other property. Does the BB have the same software that I found for my N-gage if so where? Pro or cons. Thanks for any help. Sorry for such a long post just wanted to cover all the bases.:smile:

paulbblc
04-30-2006, 12:29 PM
Go with the BB. I dont have a 8700 so I really cant speak for it however the one thing I can say about the 8125 is that it has windows mobile and that right there alone is enough to stay away from it.

That is unless you like being tempted to throw the thing across the room.