PDA

View Full Version : Can I use a Blackberry only as a PDA?

irenius
05-15-2006, 01:25 AM
Hello I am new to the Blackberry. I use a Sharp PDA and am attracted to the Blackberry's PDA leyboard, functions and battery life. Can I use a Blackberry as a PDA without activating any phone connection? I really only need its unwired functions like note-taking and phone/address book. I notice many Bb's for sale at low prices but wasn't sure if a service activation of sorts were needed to use all of a Bb's functions.
Thank you!

phetish phil
05-15-2006, 01:53 AM
Yes, you can. You can synch certain bits of information over the wire with your computer or use it by itself. If you don't need phone or mobile email then the BlackBerry may be a possiblity for you. Remember though that it's primary function is wireless email. You may find some of the functions limited depending on your needs. It's not like a Palm. Some of the convenience options being able to sync documents and the like are not native to BB.

Whether you can get a cheap BlackBerry without a contract from a wireless provider is something else. You can get used ones at a decent price. The down side is that without a service plan getting support if something breaks can be a little rough. RIM doesn't support handheld customers directly. I've dealt with carriers that won't support it if there's not an active/recent account with it.

bb_frustrates_me
05-15-2006, 01:56 AM
You can but it's not that great of a PDA. You're better investing in a PDA specific device, definitely explore all your options first. However if you want to use it as a phone you'll obviously need some kind of telecom connection.

d_fisher
05-15-2006, 06:15 AM
^^^ What he said.

radimus
05-15-2006, 12:33 PM
If all you want is a good, cheap PDA then here you go:

http://www.palm.com/us/products/handhelds/z22/

Don't let the Graffiti text input system intimidate you. It's very easy to learn.