PDA

View Full Version : A few 8700g Tmobile questions


bigmekastyle
05-16-2006, 04:16 PM
Hey yall. i ahve a few questions and ive tried reading up but im just not sure the answer to these questions

I just ordered the 8700g from T-mobile and will be using BIS. Here are my few questions

1) I have an imap4 email address. will emails be pushed to the berry in real time? Will i have synch wiht read/unread and deleted items

2) Can i HTML browse or do i need to download something like reqwireless or does it not matter since the berry has an html broswer built in.

3) there is a built in aim client.. does that use SMS or data.. should i download something like yak-on or ramble or will that no be reliable since i am on BIS and am lacking MDS or BES or whatever its called

4) Do i need to go through the process of that APN setup to get tcp things working?

Sorry for all the newbie questions. Thanks alot for your help

--Meka

AIM: Big Meka Style

stripesace
05-16-2006, 04:26 PM
If you use the search function on the board you can find all of the answers to your questions. They have been discussed since the 8700g has been releaseed, some even repeat questiosn from the 8700c release.

LunkHead
05-16-2006, 05:04 PM
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry 8700g: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.0) BlackBerry8700/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100)

The BB comes with a HTML browser and I have mine set to emulate IE.

The OZ client that you can download for T-Mo uses SMS. The good thing is that T-Mo has unlimited SMS plan for $10.

APN is simple to set up. Wap.voicestream.com you do not need to enter username or password.

Have fun with the 8700! :)

DuckWingDuck
05-16-2006, 06:20 PM
1) I have an imap4 email address. will emails be pushed to the berry in real time? Will i have synch wiht read/unread and deleted items


In a word, no. But you can play tricks. However, if you read some of the tip pages, supposedly BIS can talk to IMAP4 to sync but I've not been able to get it work for my BIS accounts.

bigmekastyle
05-16-2006, 07:11 PM
yeah ive tried searching for the aim things but im still kinda unclear if yak-on or ramble will work reliably wihout having a BES server?

Thanks for all your earlier answers!

phillyslickster
05-16-2006, 07:21 PM
You can use Ramble or Yak-On without BES. I did it with my 8700c as well as my 7100g. I'm using the OZ client on the 8700g.