PDA

View Full Version : 7280 and wrong password


rwallon
05-19-2006, 03:45 AM
Hello,

I have read in the 7280's user guide that if I type 10 times my password incorrectly, all information is erased ....

what's happening after ?
does it still ask me the password or is it as DAY 1 ??

Thank you for your help,

Rafael

sorry for my english, i'm from Europe ...

BERDucky
05-19-2006, 12:04 PM
generally you'll have a password due to an IT policy from your work. So even though the handheld has been wiped clear of information the IT policy will still be there

i beleive you'll just be asked to set up a new password - however it might be that your IT must give you a password first THEN you change it to what you want

not 100% sure though since i havn't done this to my handheld

headtailgrep
05-19-2006, 11:05 PM
it's gone. all is wiped and machine is in a blank state..

rwallon
05-20-2006, 12:32 PM
you mean that after you can't used your BB at all ?
after 10 wrong attempt, you just have to put your BB to trash ?

BERDucky
05-20-2006, 12:44 PM
no no no - you won't have to throw it out
it just means that all the data on your BlackBerry will be gone - this is a security feature in case your BlackBerry is lost or stolen

you can still use it - you just will have to reload it and get new service books

rwallon
05-20-2006, 08:31 PM
how do you reload it ?

NJBlackBerry
05-20-2006, 08:38 PM
Here is a Sticky FAQ on where to download the handheld OS and how to install it...

http://www.blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?t=1871

jamesdoe
05-22-2006, 11:33 PM
...

JerryD
05-23-2006, 06:31 AM
Hello,

I have read in the 7280's user guide that if I type 10 times my password incorrectly, all information is erased ....

what's happening after ?
does it still ask me the password or is it as DAY 1 ??

Thank you for your help,

Rafael

sorry for my english, i'm from Europe ...

When you enter the 10th incorrect password, the device will perform a "Security Wipe". That will erase all data on the device, and some installed applications.

NOTE: If the device's data is encrypted, the wipe can take SEVERAL HOURS! Recently, on an encrypted (and compressed which most devices are set to by default) 8700c (the fastest Blackberry around!), it took over 2 hours - maybe more than 3!

If the password was required by IT Policy, a password will still be required. I'm pretty sure you just enter a new password, although I'm not positive.

IT Policy can only be changed by having a new policy pushed to the device.

Search this site for a local hack to modify IT Policy.


J