PDA

View Full Version : 8700G on TMob will not open attachments

JoeEagle
05-19-2006, 06:40 PM
I just got of the phone with TMob and they told me if my email ISP is Comcast, then attachments to those emails will not be able to be opened by my new 8700G unless i do some sort of sending to my tmo.blackberry.net account. not sure how this gets done without causing an inability to sync without duplicates.

i just returned a Treo because i thought that the keyboard would be better on the Blackberry, and that is was bullet proof, and that the 8700g would allow me to open attachments?

any suggestions of how to set up laptop/BB?

thanks

and yes, i am new to Blackberry.

BERDucky
05-20-2006, 08:52 AM
i haven't heard of any issues with opening attachments with Comcast accounts

What T-Mobile is recommending you do is set up a forwading rule on your Comcast account to forward your email directly to a tmo.blackberry.net address that you create.

In doing this you will get your email right away and any attachments as well. however unless you change the "reply to" address for your BIS address to your Comcast you will be sending email and repling to email using your tmo.blackberry.net address

The other option is to add your Comcast account to your BlackBerry via the T-Mobile web site. This way your email is polled about every 15 minutes. You won't need a tmo.blackberry.net address and when you send new email and reply it will automatically use your Comcast account.

You mentioned syncinign without duplicates - when you sync with your laptop your email will not be affected when your on a BIS - only a BES

i also found the following aritcle on RIM's public kb that lists what attachments are supported

http://www.blackberry.com/knowledgecenterpublic/livelink.exe/fetch/2000/8021/270925/What_Is_-_Supported_attachments_for_BlackBerry_Internet_Service.html?nodeid=722744&vernum=0