PDA

View Full Version : ROM update for 8700G


trpenner
06-02-2006, 01:49 AM
Do ROM updates exist for these devices? What about backing up a ROM?

rcbjr
06-02-2006, 06:47 AM
ROM = Read Only Memory. What do you mean ROM update? NO you can't update ROM. You can load a new version of the Operating System which is in Flash Memory, but there are certain things stored deeper than in the Flash memory that the user cannot change.

Hope this helps.
Rcbjr

trpenner
06-03-2006, 03:22 PM
ROM = Read Only Memory. What do you mean ROM update? NO you can't update ROM. You can load a new version of the Operating System which is in Flash Memory, but there are certain things stored deeper than in the Flash memory that the user cannot change.

Hope this helps.
RcbjrNewer Operating System... OK GREAT! Where do I start for that?

I am an old Pocket PC user and I took for granted there was space for a memory card which there isn't. I assume space is going to be a problem now with apps and such. Is there anything I can do about that as well?

Berry One
06-03-2006, 03:32 PM
No need for ROM upgrades.

No need for OS upgrades unless you really want to have latest and greatest. Translation: if it just works, and it usually does, don't bother.

If you plan to use blackberry for emailing, calendar, web browsing- space is not going to be a problem.

trpenner
06-03-2006, 03:49 PM
[QUOTE=Berry One]No need for OS upgrades unless you really want to have latest and greatest. QUOTE]Yes, I am interested in having the latest and greatest operating system.

stripesace
06-03-2006, 03:54 PM
searching the forum?

NJBlackBerry
06-03-2006, 04:02 PM
General Discussion Forum
Sticky FAQ
http://www.blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?t=1871

cooperpwc
06-03-2006, 04:10 PM
And if you really are as intrepid as you sound (nothing wrong with that) and are willing to deal with a little hacking, you might want to dive into the true "latest and greatest (http://www.blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?t=26764)".

NJBlackBerry
06-03-2006, 04:12 PM
Make sure you read up on Javaloader and how to wipe out the BB if you mess it up....

cooperpwc
06-03-2006, 04:21 PM
No doubt that is good advice but.... I have had it fail mid-upgrade (several times) and always been able to recover with Desktop Manager. Applications Loader can recognise and re-establish loader contact with a disabled or no-OS 8700 at the Communication Port Selection screen.

NJBlackBerry
06-03-2006, 04:28 PM
I'm sure there are quite a few people here who have disabled some of the functionality on the BB, especially when loading or deleting themes, and have welcomed Javaloader....

cooperpwc
06-03-2006, 04:37 PM
Like I said, I didn't doubt the quality of your advice. So far I have never gotten Javaloader to work on my Paleolithic-era Windows ME computer (although I did hack away at BBScreen until I got a variation with a separate and simplified .bat file to function. Not sure if BBScreen and Javaloader even share a common kernel.) So I was only pointing out that recovery is possible with the original Desktop Manager.
Options are good!

Berry One
06-03-2006, 07:10 PM
Yes, I am interested in having the latest and greatest operating system.

Send resume to RIM.

trpenner
06-03-2006, 10:47 PM
Send resume to RIM.
Well heck... I just loaded a beta copy of Vista and trying to get blackberry working. Drivers installed when I plugged it in and the Blackberry Desktop Software v4.1.1 loaded without issue. Unfortunately it won't connect. What would you suggest in getting it running?

NJBlackBerry
06-03-2006, 10:53 PM
Don't use beta software with a BlackBerry. RIM certainly doesn't support it and there won't be drivers out until Vista goes live. Support for Office 2003 came out a couple of months after general availability.

trpenner
06-04-2006, 04:48 PM
Don't use beta software with a BlackBerry. RIM certainly doesn't support it and there won't be drivers out until Vista goes live. Support for Office 2003 came out a couple of months after general availability.Yep... Good news and good advice. I will stick with what I got. I noticed now that there is an official OS upgrade and desktop software 4.1.1... and both have 4.x numbers close together. How confusing. I just reverted to back to XP and need some guidance here as both installs appear to have close to the same screens also. What, when, and how to bring my Blackberry as up-to-date as I can with official sofware? Do I need one, both, etc, and where is the best place to download specifically?

jdjleo
06-04-2006, 04:53 PM
Make sure you read up on Javaloader and how to wipe out the BB if you mess it up....

Using Javaloader is the only time i ever had a problem with my 8700. Had a nightmare of browser issues after settings wouldnt load...i dont recommend using Javaloader ever. Should be able to recover using desktop manager most problems.

NJBlackBerry
06-04-2006, 04:54 PM
Two pieces of software: Desktop Manager is available from the RIM web site (www.blackberry.com) in the Support section. Download that and install it. Done ;-)

Handheld OS is a different creature. There are loads of different versions out there. If you want to run the latest version you will want to download the one that is available from Telstra. There is a sticky thread FAQ at the top of the General BlackBerry Discussion forum with the locations for all of the different carrier versions.

Note that all of the software is written by RIM; the carriers certify it (in theory). The "Bharti" and "Telstra" versions are the newest.

I "have to" run the latest version too. I am running the Telstra version.

- Download the version you want to run
- Execute the file you just downloaded
- Locate and delete "Vendor.XML" from your PC C: drive
- Connect the BB, start Desktop Manager. The upgrade should start. If no, start Applicaiton Loader within Desktop Manager

That's the whole deal. Good luck.

trpenner
06-05-2006, 07:09 PM
NJ, have you noticed it chewing up battery life? I suppose I will try Telstra. Is there a way to go back? Can you back-up the OS with a tool of some kind?

trpenner
06-05-2006, 08:21 PM
The link I have found mentions the OS for T-mobile 8700G as being at v4.10.284 at http://www.blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?t=1871 . This is exactly what my device says on the About screen followed by "PLATFORM 2.0.0.120" I have little idea what platform means there. Also Telstra is listed as a carrier as well and I can't tell where to download what you are speaking of. Lot's of mention of Telstra but no download link?

cooperpwc
06-05-2006, 09:01 PM
The link I have found mentions the OS for T-mobile 8700G as being at v4.10.284 at http://www.blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?t=1871 . This is exactly what my device says on the About screen followed by "PLATFORM 2.0.0.120" I have little idea what platform means there. Also Telstra is listed as a carrier as well and I can't tell where to download what you are speaking of. Lot's of mention of Telstra but no download link?
Full instructions and download links here (http://www.blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?t=26764).
BTW .284 refers to the Applications version, not the Platform version. There is no universal rule but people refer to the Applications version more often. From the Blackberry homescreen press alt+num+H to see what you are running.

NJBlackBerry
06-05-2006, 09:03 PM
The link I have found mentions the OS for T-mobile 8700G as being at v4.10.284 at http://www.blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?t=1871 . This is exactly what my device says on the About screen followed by "PLATFORM 2.0.0.120" I have little idea what platform means there. Also Telstra is listed as a carrier as well and I can't tell where to download what you are speaking of. Lot's of mention of Telstra but no download link?
C'mon - I gave it to you in message #7 of this thread... I put the link there.

cooperpwc
06-05-2006, 09:05 PM
NJ, have you noticed it chewing up battery life? I suppose I will try Telstra. Is there a way to go back? Can you back-up the OS with a tool of some kind?
You can certainly downgrade your OS by downloading the lower version and installing it to Desktop Manager. You will often have to force the downgrade by selecting the Advanced option in Applications Loader and telling it to wipe the device's applications.

trpenner
06-05-2006, 09:14 PM
Full instructions and download links here (http://www.blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?t=26764).
BTW .284 refers to the Applications version, not the Platform version. There is no universal rule but people refer to the Applications version more often. From the Blackberry homescreen press alt+num+H to see what you are running.ahhh.... now that is exactly what I was looking for... OK I press alt+num+H to see what version I am running. It looks like platform 2.0.0.120 and app version 4.10.284. What will it say when I download the Telstra mentioned in your "here" link? Do I need to have the desktop software installed before downloading? Does it use the desktop software to load the new Telstra OS?

cooperpwc
06-06-2006, 11:18 AM
ahhh.... now that is exactly what I was looking for... OK I press alt+num+H to see what version I am running. It looks like platform 2.0.0.120 and app version 4.10.284. What will it say when I download the Telstra mentioned in your "here" link? Do I need to have the desktop software installed before downloading? Does it use the desktop software to load the new Telstra OS?
For Telstra, Platform will be 2.0.0.133, App Version will be 4.1.0.309.
You do not need Desktop Manager installed to download the Telstra OS installation program, but you do need it installed before you run that program. (It installs itself to Desktop Manager, and specifically to the Applications Loader. And yes, it uses the Application Loader in Desktop Manager to install itself to your 8700.)