PDA

View Full Version : Status of 8700 - locked/unlocked?


db
06-05-2006, 01:52 PM
Is there any item in the menu system on the 8700 --- that displays whether the phone is "locked" to a specific carrier --- or "unlocked?"

or

Is inserting SIMs of different carriers into the 8700 --- to see if they work --- the only way to know if the phone is "locked?"

Thanks for any information you can share.

db

jdjleo
06-05-2006, 01:57 PM
go to options --> advanced options --> sim card

at the top it will say SIM Card:Security Disabled

youre unlocked, baby!

RemyJ
06-05-2006, 02:06 PM
go to options --> advanced options --> sim card

at the top it will say SIM Card:Security Disabled

youre unlocked, baby!

This only tells you the card status, not the phone status.

go to options --> advanced options --> sim card
and type MEPD.

A personalization list should appear.
Network: Active = LOCKED
Network: Disabled = UNLOCKED

cooperpwc
06-05-2006, 02:15 PM
EDIT: I'm locked. (n)