PDA

View Full Version : Trying to Decide on Blackberry

RedRaven
06-14-2006, 10:22 AM
Please bare with me for I am new to the PDA world and trying to decide on what PDA to purchase. Cingular is currently my provider and i want to switch from the Razor to a PDA. Right now I am trying to decide between a blackberry ( not sure on a model) vs. Treo. Can anyone help me on pros/cons of both?

HuwSy
06-14-2006, 10:48 AM
Pros
Blackberry: instant email, stable
Treo: multimedia, games

Cons
Blackberry: slow initiall bootup
Treo: External antenna

thats the basics.

too
06-14-2006, 11:30 AM
I can tell you this from my experience of supporting them.... I replaced about 10 times more Treo's than I do BB's. They do both have their advantages, but the BB is definately more stable.

Now, I am not sure how the Treo 700 will stack up. We use 650's right now are are getting ready to move to the 700.

HuwSy
06-14-2006, 12:18 PM
But if your over here in th uk then neither of the treo 700s work as ther both cdma and wer all gsm here.

I think if your like me tho youl go through a lot of either of these as neither have been rugedised enough for ending up in sand. Saying that my palm pda survived but my Bb didnt.

tmj
06-14-2006, 02:59 PM
I have several friends/ co-workers with Treos (both 650 and 700w). They are constantly trying to tell me how superior their device is to mine. At least when they are not busy fixing some glitch or another.

If you like bulletproof instant e-mail and reasonable internet browsing on a virtually crash-proof device, go BB.

lots of bells and whistles on the treos (multimedia, cameras etc.), but everyone I know with one (8 people) has issues keeping it all running correctly.

JMO

li2327
06-14-2006, 03:42 PM
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry7250/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/105)

I have had both devices. I have to say I do prefer the blackberry. I like the push feature of the email. Buttons are also better postitioned. In my opinion.