PDA

View Full Version : SMS on BlackBerry 7510/7520

ldabadie
07-30-2006, 11:12 PM
I am a veteran BB user. I recall the good old days of the spinach color 850. I now have a BB 7510 (getting 7520 soon) on the Mike network (Telus/Nextel).

Here's my question:

I love BB more than anything, but this one feature on this device frustrates me so much. When you recieve SMS on this device it DOES NOT say who it is from.

Since sending outgoing sms is such a pain with this device I have discovered the trick of using email phone#@<hidden> so I can have conversations like normal BB users. This solution is great for kick starting an sms conversation but doesn't help when someone randomly sms' me.

Is there an app that fixes this I can download? Is there a solution or do I just have to switch to a new network that isn't like this? I think I am literally going to switch if I can't find a solution. PLEASE ASSIST!

Thanks BB guru's!

Alimah
07-31-2006, 07:14 AM
This is a major thumbs down for Nextel with me. We do not have TRUE SMS capability and from what I understand, some of the other carriers do. When the text messages come in, you have no idea who they are from and you are stuck with guessing and initiating a seperate e-mail to reply. It sucks! If anyone has a solution to this, I would LOVE to hear it as well.

Fkewl
08-01-2006, 01:03 PM
Any BB on the TELUS MIKE (iDEN) network will not have bidirectionnal sms (no sender, no reply)

If SMS is a big thing, ask to be switched to the PCS network. You might have contract fee's and a new BB to buy and you lose DC.

Fkewl
08-01-2006, 01:34 PM
I got another way for TELUS users on the iDEN (mike) network with BB's to SEND TEXT easily

-subscribe to an Spark package to have some texts messages instead of paying 15cents per text
-use the WAP internet icon on your blackberry
-you'll be in "Surf Business" section (well on mine, it is)
-use Communicate
-use Text

This still wont show the sender when receiving texts

ldabadie