PDA

View Full Version : Checking POP3/SMTP email

Child of Wonder
08-02-2006, 10:36 AM
I have never used a Blackberry and my boss is considering purchasing one so he can access our email from anywhere. We currently run a POP3/SMTP Linux server for email.

I've been doing research regarding Blackberries accessing POP3 email and seem to hear conflicting answers.

Some places say you have to have the mail forwarded to your Blackberry account, others you have to get a special program.....

I suspect this information is incorrect. How easy is to simply have the Blackberry grab emails from our server and send them out via SMTP AUTH?

asianmaze
08-02-2006, 11:01 AM
Okay, I'm not an expert, so if I'm not really answering your question, please forgive me!

I use pop3 for email, and I have several email accounts. I have my blackberry from T-mo UK and they provide a blackberry 'instantemail' account which accesses all my pop3 accounts every 15 minutes and the emails drop into my blackberry. It's marvellous.

I believe the main downside of operating this way is that the email doesn't come instantly - because of the 15 minute thing - but that doesn't worry me at all. If it doesn't worry your boss either, then I can't see a problem.

takeshi
08-02-2006, 12:08 PM
It's all covered in the FAQ's.

Child of Wonder
08-02-2006, 01:30 PM
It's all covered in the FAQ's.

Unless I'm misreading the FAQ, I don't think it is or I'm not understanding it fully.

It seems the options are to either:

1. Install a 3rd party client on the Blackberry to download messages from a POP3 server
2. Forward emails to the @<hidden> email (don't want this)
3. Have the BWC webmail site download the mail every 15 minutes from a POP3 server and forward it to the Blackberry (however, when replying won't the mail appear to originate from the person's @<hidden> address? Don't want this either).

mgerbasio
08-02-2006, 02:52 PM