PDA

View Full Version : SOS signal?


dlbrock
08-22-2006, 07:13 PM
I am on Cingular and have an unlocked 8700c. I am way out in the woods of Georgia on a project and my phone signal is either GSM (I can make phone calls but no data) or SOS (what does this stand for?) (Sh*t out of service?)

Anyway, since the phone is unlocked shouldn't i be able to go to network and switch to another vendors network and use the phone or would that also require another SIM card?

Dude
08-22-2006, 07:23 PM
SOS (what does this stand for?)


It means that the network you're on does not have a roaming agreement with Cingular. Only emergency calls are possible.

-Dude

jsuen
08-22-2006, 07:24 PM
SOS = 911 calls only. The only network your phone can find doesn't have a roaming agreement in the area with Cingular. You'll have to use a different network and therefore SIM card.

ceesthoen
02-21-2007, 07:06 PM
Save Our Soles

Chinasaur
02-21-2007, 08:32 PM
See if T-Mobile has service at your site - login (http://compass.t-mobile.com/Default.aspx). If T-Mobile has service....

Get a ToGo Phone/SIM combo for ~$30 at Target/WalMart. Pop the SIM into your BB and use as normal. Buy minutes at Cheap International Prepaid Phone Cards (http://www.cheapphonecards.com) (cheaper than refilling at T-Mobile) and use it while on site.

No ETF from Cingular. But NO Data/BB function..but at least your phone would work...