PDA

View Full Version : Google issues!!


junior1790
08-29-2006, 12:26 PM
Would someone tell me what i am doing wrong here, while trying to look up anything on google from my 8700c, the information it brings is different than if i did it from my desktop. I am almost sure it is some ridiculous, easy answer but do i have to change any settings or gateways to make it work right??? By different information i mean for instnce phone numbers, type a restaurant in google with the area code and your good to go, do it on my 8700, no dice???

junior1790
08-30-2006, 10:37 AM
none of you blackberry jedi can straighten this out???

geek_riot
08-30-2006, 11:14 AM
Would someone tell me what i am doing wrong here, while trying to look up anything on google from my 8700c, the information it brings is different than if i did it from my desktop. I am almost sure it is some ridiculous, easy answer but do i have to change any settings or gateways to make it work right??? By different information i mean for instnce phone numbers, type a restaurant in google with the area code and your good to go, do it on my 8700, no dice???

So are you using the wap version of google or just Google (http://www.google.com?) And are you using this in your internet browser?

junior1790
08-30-2006, 01:38 PM
plain google, and i am using it with the default browser...

Mark Rejhon
08-30-2006, 01:46 PM
Would someone tell me what i am doing wrong here, while trying to look up anything on google from my 8700c, the information it brings is different than if i did it from my desktop.This may be because accessing Google on BlackBerry uses Google Canada, while using your desktop uses Google U.S. In this case, search results returned are slightly different, occasionally favouring Canadian sites over U.S. This is because BlackBerry is a Canadian product.

Also, Google has many servers distributed throughout the world, and it takes a while for all of them to fully synchronize. Sometimes new search results show on some servers while not on others yet, so search results aren't identical at exactly the same time, when the databases are being updated.

Select "Go to Google.com" if you are getting to Google Canada. That will make results much more similiar. Change your browser settings emulation to "Microsoft IE", so that Google doesn't bias the search to mobile-friendly websites. (Not 100% sure, but I heard that it does.)

geek_riot
08-30-2006, 01:52 PM
This may be because accessing Google on BlackBerry uses Google Canada, while using your desktop uses Google U.S. In this case, search results returned are slightly different, occasionally favouring Canadian sites over U.S. This is because BlackBerry is a Canadian product.

Also, Google has many servers distributed throughout the world, and it takes a while for all of them to fully synchronize. Sometimes new search results show on some servers while not on others yet, so search results aren't identical at exactly the same time, when the databases are being updated.

Select "Go to Google.com" if you are getting to Google Canada. That will make results much more similiar. Change your browser settings emulation to "Microsoft IE", so that Google doesn't bias the search to mobile-friendly websites. (Not 100% sure, but I heard that it does.)

That's what i've had to do. Set my browser to Microsoft IE, and I always go to Google (http://www.google.com/ncr) so that google doesn't redirect me to its canadian site.

junior1790
08-30-2006, 02:02 PM
cool, thaks to both of you....