PDA

View Full Version : Verizon 7130e with sprint software?


puma008
09-15-2006, 10:20 AM
Hey guys, I was just wondering if there was anyone who has the sprint OS software installed on a verizon 7130e and how it was working? And if not, does anyone know if this is ok to do without any problems? I downloaded the sprint OS and also the AXL file..

Does it say its sprint or antyhing when using this software?

Thanks for the help guys!

koleary19067
09-15-2006, 10:45 AM
You will have no problems with the software. The software are interchangeable between the same series phones.

Just make sure after you download the Sprint OS, that you delete the VENDOR file before updating the BB with DesktopManager.

puma008
09-15-2006, 11:02 AM
vendor fiole being blackberry.alx right?
I replaced it with the one I downloaded from this site.

koleary19067
09-15-2006, 11:08 AM
1. Download the sprint OS file (includes the blackberry.alx)
2. Delete the Vendor.xml file.
3. Connect BB to PC
4. Open up Desktop Manger
5. Upload new OS.

puma008
09-15-2006, 12:45 PM
koleary19067 thanks for the help, really appreciate it. One more question, i downloaded the OS file, extracted it.. ran the .exe it puts the files into c:\Program Files\common files\research in motion\shared\loader\

Now when i kick off desktop manager after also deleting the vendor file and replaced the axl file... all it brings up is the verizon OS info in the application loader wizard.. if i go in and remove the verizon directory in the above path, then i am told no system software was detected. am i missing something?

koleary19067
09-15-2006, 01:07 PM
I would first unistall the Verizon OS off of your PC and then rerun the Sprint OS.

puma008
09-15-2006, 02:19 PM
Thanks man! It worked. Even had the Zen theme preinstalled.. awsome! just wondering what them are you using right now on your 7130e koleary?

koleary19067
09-15-2006, 02:46 PM
Wirelessly posted (7130e: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.0) BlackBerry7130e/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/104)

Great news that you got it to work. I have the Zen theme and this site has tons of themes to download. I believe that it is in the Ringtones theme section

puma008
09-15-2006, 03:13 PM
Do you have the Zen theme with the icons? I think there is another with the items listed on the sides.. do you know where I can get that? Cause this OS just came with the one version....

koleary19067
09-15-2006, 03:24 PM
Wirelessly posted (7130e: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.0) BlackBerry7130e/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/104)

Here is the link for the zen

http://knology.net/~acidmax/blackberry/7100_today/7100_dimension_zen.jad

puma008
09-15-2006, 03:39 PM
WOW! that is nice! Thanks for your help today!