PDA

View Full Version : Newbie needs advise

Eric5273
09-14-2004, 05:59 PM
I'm new to the world of blackberrys. I don't have one yet, but I've used Pocket PCs & Smartphones in the past. So I'm thinking maybe the blackberry is the device for me. Here is what I need to use my phone for:

1) Phone calls
2) Contact Manager (not a huge contact list, but around 50-75 contacts)
3) Very occasional use of the callender, but not often
4) Browse the web -- I will use this feature daily
5) Stay signed onto AIM at least a few hours per day even while I do other things (can the blackberry multi-task? can I have webmessenger open & signed on while I check my email, browse the web, or make phone calls??)
6) send and receive text messages on occasion
7) And of course, check my email: my business email is a pop3 account, and my personal is AOL. I want to be able to not only receive copies of my mail, but I want to be able to delete all my junk mail and spam and then purge the server of these emails. My biggest problem when I go out of town is that I come back to hundreds of junk emails and it takes hours to go through them all and delete the junk. I'm hoping whichever device I get, it can help me do this remotely on a daily basis.

I have no need for MP3s, or fancy wallpaper or Top-40 ringtones. I use the device more for personal use, but occasional business use the 2-3 times per year I travel on business.

So is the blackberry the device for me? Will it do everything I listed above? I do realize I will need a BES service, and I don't mind paying to subscribe to one -- cost isn't really a big concern of mine. I'm most concerned with getting the right device that can do everything I need.

Thanks for any advise...

Gothalyptic
09-14-2004, 06:18 PM
Blackberry is for you! It can do all that and more in a much smaller package then most pocket pc's out there ;)

1) Of course you can call