PDA

View Full Version : HTML from nextel???!!!


samri
03-17-2005, 07:06 PM
I just got my 7520 from nextel and one of the CSR's mentioned that nextel was going to be coming out with and HTML viewer on April 1st. not sure if it will be free or how you will get it. Wanted to know if anyone has any more info???
-thanks

dzervit
03-17-2005, 07:10 PM
OMFG... please somebody confirm... if this is an April fool's joke someone is going to pay... think I'm going to have to call my data rep tomorrow.

samri
03-17-2005, 07:14 PM
Dont blame the messanger...just passing along to see if its true myself. I do know that Blackberry/RIM will tell you the 7520 is capable of doing it....

southwestcomm
03-17-2005, 11:15 PM
I heard Nextel will be upgrading BWC to include the Blackberry Browser as well.

samri
03-18-2005, 08:38 AM
Is the Blackberry browser as good as the requirless browser?

bwortman
03-18-2005, 08:39 AM
Looks like we may have to wait and see if there is something available come 1 Apr....

samri
03-20-2005, 10:14 AM
Anyone have any more info?

ELM417
03-20-2005, 02:21 PM
yeah, is there ANYYY more info?

jibi
03-20-2005, 02:41 PM
more info in his other thread in the rumor mill...

http://www.blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?t=4915

Stu_Bee
03-20-2005, 03:49 PM
So is this different than the "BlackBerry Browser" that came with my 7520?

I've only had the 7520 for a week and I do have a BES Server in the corporate environment, so I'm not sure if that plays a part in why it is installed.

southwestcomm
03-20-2005, 05:39 PM
As a BES user you have a full HTML browser - Blackberry browser. It is part of the MDS service. I have never used the reqwireless browser, I'm a BES user myself. I assume they are all similar.

vidsmart
03-20-2005, 06:58 PM
I'm a BWC user and I already have the BB browser on my Nextel 7520. Can't explain why. It just showed up one day after I selected send service book. I wasted money when I paid 29.99 for reqwireless webviewer.

samri
03-21-2005, 07:56 AM
I see the Black berry browser under service book also, how do i access it???? How do get from service book to making an icon where you can use it to surf???

BBFreak
03-21-2005, 10:20 AM
Most carriers block the BB Browser if you don't have BES. It's crazy, they want you to pay all this extra money to access it. I get the same results with webviewer, besides the ability to access some secured sites (ie. banks).

chuy
03-21-2005, 03:02 PM
I just looked at my Service Book on my 7520, and it's popped up there too. I had checked a few days ago and it wasn't.

I also have an entry that says "Provisioning." I'll bet anything they are trying to get as many Service Books provisioned correctly before the release on the first as they can.

I imagine that the "provisioning" book has something to do with blocking the Blackberry Browser from being accessed until it's officially deployed.

It is turning interesting indeed.... Glad to see that RIM and Nextel take care of their Blackberry users.

Now, if us Nextel guys could just get our hands on ringtones like the 71xxer's.

Oh, also...

Most carriers block the BB Browser if you don't have BES. It's crazy, they want you to pay all this extra money to access it.

It's not really crazy - it just eats up a lot more bandwidth.

That's why all of us are worrying that they're going to add a monthly charger for access to it, or hike the rates, or something...

dzervit
03-21-2005, 03:33 PM
I just looked at my Service Book on my 7520, and it's popped up there too. I had checked a few days ago and it wasn't.

I also have an entry that says "Provisioning." I'll bet anything they are trying to get as many Service Books provisioned correctly before the release on the first as they can.

I imagine that the "provisioning" book has something to do with blocking the Blackberry Browser from being accessed until it's officially deployed.
I've had it listed in my handheld under service book from day one. However, on my BWC I only have the single service book to send down. Is it possible to request the service book from the handheld? This is driving me crazy!!!

chuy
03-21-2005, 03:42 PM
Nope. Have to do it through Web Client. Sorry...