PDA

View Full Version : 7290 q's

darkpbstar
10-15-2006, 11:58 PM
hey, I'm new here. I am thinking of getting a 7290, they are only 99.99 right now, which is just an awsome price, and was just wondering what your guy's/girl's imput was on it. I am a full time student, and think this could be really useful for me. They are all comptuer classes, (computer programming is waht I'm going for) and my 2 of my classes has weekly lectures online that he posts and you download them and watch them(powerpoints). with the 7290 would I be able to download a lecture and watch and/or listen to it? aslo, would I be able to do word documents on it? thanks, I'll check back later tonite or tomorrow.

darkpbstar
10-16-2006, 01:35 AM
Please help me out, I am a newb and could use all of your help. thanks

kasperapd
10-16-2006, 02:09 AM
Well, first off you can be patient for a reply. You will get answers once others have a chance to read your question. The price is good, but is that with a contract? If so, you can find better deals on a newer device on Amazon, or several other places on the web. I have never tried viewing a PowerPoint on my BB, but the issues I'm thinking will be a problem are file size, and along with that, download speed. The 7290 only has 32MB memory, and does not have EDGE. Another issue, is that I think a third party app is required to even view a slideshow. Try searching the forums for more info on how powerpoint will work with the BB.

takeshi
10-16-2006, 08:12 AM
I seriously doubt that you want to view Powerpoint files if the Blackberry supports the format (which I also doubt).

NJBlackBerry
10-16-2006, 08:38 AM
Not even two hours between posts. In the middle of the night. Talk about instant gratification.

You can view Word and Powerpoint documents, but remember that the screen is only a few square inches, and may not do what you want. The major strength of the BlackBerry are secure wireless e-mail.