PDA

View Full Version : Can I use my BB7290 in Brazil ?


ikko555
01-25-2007, 02:50 PM
:bb: Hello,

I have Cingular 7290 with International data roaming and voice. Then ,now, I am in here Brazil, Rio de Janeiro. But my 7290 cannot get the roaming signal.
Though I tried removing the battery a few times, BB could not get the signal.

Also, when I called the Cingular global support, they said "your BB7290 cannot get the signal for 1800MHz. In Brazil, the carrier does not use 1900MHz. Unfortunately, you cannot use BB in Brazil. You should replace to BB8700."

Is this correct ? The operation manual for 7290 said "7290 has 4 bands, 850, 900, 1800 and 1900".

Should I replace new 8700 ?

Thank you.

Ikko

NJBlackBerry
01-25-2007, 02:54 PM
The 7290 is a quad band GPRS device. The Cingular rep you spoke to was an idiot.

Do you have the International component on your plan (I assume they checked that, but since they told you the 7290 would not work, anything is possible).

Go to Options / Network
Change the selection mode to "Manual" and scan now for new networks.

It should pick up one in Brazil.

John Clark
01-25-2007, 03:57 PM
Doesn't mean you *shouldn't* upgrade to the 8700. It's a very nice device!

Chinasaur
01-25-2007, 04:39 PM
Doesn't mean he needs to either. The 7290 is a very capable device. Perfect if you dont' need EDGE or the better screen. Keyboard is teh win as well (y)

takeshi
01-26-2007, 09:55 AM
The Cingular rep you spoke to was an idiot.

Heh, as a Cingular customer that's hardly news... ;)

The Prophet
01-26-2007, 12:08 PM
We are experiencing a similar issue with T-Mobile in Sao Paulo with the 7290 devices
These units apparently have an issue handing off to the local carrier -- either TIM or Claro.

We have an open ticket with T-Mobile, but the only solution we found was to wipe the device, then re-add it to the BES. The 7290 is than able to connect to the local network.

The Prophet

ikko555
01-26-2007, 03:37 PM
Hello everyone,

After that, I tried "scan network" manually, but my 7290 could not get the local carrier in Rio and here Sao Paulo. I already gave up.

Thank you so much .

ikko

GoblueNextel
01-27-2007, 01:59 PM
I had a nextel 7100i when I traveled to Sao Paulo in October. I had data no problem and could only recieve calls both from in Brazil and from US. I could not dial out however. Prior to leaving for Brazil, I asked my Nextel Rep if I would be able to use the phone, she said no....Boy was I pissed when I landed, turned on phone and emails start pouring in 10 hrs later...Needless to say she was wrong and I was pissed considering my contact there rented us an air card and satelite phone...

GOBLUE

fletcherz
09-15-2007, 11:05 AM
Australia & Brazil & Thailand & Trinidad and Tobago operate with both European (900 MHz /1800 MHz) and American (850 MHz /1900 MHz) GSM frequencies.
Some quad-band phones (AKA "World Phones") have problems with this topology, since the radio firmware was not written to handle this situation properly.
These problems are not related to the carriers (i.e. companies in the home countries providing the telecommunication services), but to the phone manufacturers.

Hardware vendors are working on firmware updates to solve the problem.

In the case of BlackBerry™ 7290, the Handheld Software v4.1.0.556 (Platform 1.8.0.154) (Applications: 4.1.0.377) solves the problem.

-> It worked for me traveling from Argentina (my carrier is Telecom Personal) to Sao Paulo.
For best results, set the 'Network Selection Mode' to "Manual".

lipemiami
10-04-2007, 09:24 AM
Where I download the Handheld Software v4.1.0.556???
Thanks
Lipe

Aroc
10-04-2007, 11:14 AM
Unsupported Browser (http://www.t-mobile.com/bbupgrade)

click on the link for the 7290 to get software, supply your TMo phone number.

T-Mo lists it as 4.1.0.377 for the 7290. the downloaded file will be called:
7290M_PBrER4[1].1.0_rel556_PL1.8.0.154_A4.1.0.377.exe

I can assume you this release works in Brasil. (BlackBerry application version 4.1.0.377, platform version 1.8.0.154, handheld package 4.1.0.556)

lipemiami
10-04-2007, 05:18 PM
Hello, I don't have t-mobile number!!
Can you tell me one?

John Clark
10-04-2007, 10:21 PM
There are other carriers that offer that same OS version. Check the GSM carriers in this link and find one that offers the 7290 OS version you want.

BlackBerry Operating System Downloads - BlackBerryFAQ (http://www.blackberryfaq.com/index.php/BlackBerry_Operating_System_Downloads)

lipemiami
10-05-2007, 09:28 PM
Hello my friend,
Thanks for the tip,
After I download the program how do I update the BB?
Lipe

NJBlackBerry
10-05-2007, 09:45 PM
Main Page - BlackBerryFAQ (http://www.blackberryfaq.com) - check out the sections on updating your BlackBerry.

lipemiami
10-05-2007, 10:45 PM
Thank you all, now my phone is working.