PDA

View Full Version : Data Plan


jshmb
01-27-2007, 12:53 PM
I have a BB7130 w/ Verizon. Here is my situation......... I recently returned home from deployment (Navy) and it took me a few days to call and have my data plan re-activated. I was suprised to learn that in those few days my phone had been trying to connect to the internet and I was being charged for usage. Verizon tells me that the BB 7130e does this and there is nothing I can do about it. Does anyone know how I can effectively turn this process of so I do not get billed for services I am not using?

brucejr
01-27-2007, 03:23 PM
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry8703e/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/105)

Do you have any programs or push channels that are accessing data ota? Do you have an unlimited data plan?

jshmb
01-27-2007, 03:57 PM
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry7130e/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/105)

No push programs. I do have an unlimited data plan now so that I am getting something for the money I am spending. The problem comes I the times when I go to sea. I teminate the plan during that time and there is a lapse when I go from pay per byte to unlimited.

Ashton
01-27-2007, 05:29 PM
Do you use it as a PDA and as a Cell at that time? turn off the option you dont need (i.e. "only phone" or "phone off" settings) atleast when you dont need them, this might help.

John Clark
01-27-2007, 08:57 PM
Ashton,
The "phone only" profile only keeps the BB from notifying you of a message. It has nothing to do with whether or not the BB sends/receives data.

Some OS's have a setting under >Options >Network where you can turn off data services. If yours has that setting then use that. If not, then you'd probably need to have the carrier turn off internet/data if they can.

jshmb
01-28-2007, 09:53 AM
The plan was turned off when this occurred. Verizon told me that this paticular phone (7130e) can not be configured so that it will not search for the internet.

gdpmumin
01-28-2007, 09:55 AM
If the phone was off, then it wasn't searching for the internet. At the very least, they should credit you the fees associated with this error. Have they done that?

jshmb
01-28-2007, 11:18 AM
Sorry I wasn't clear. the phone plan was still active but the data plan was not. It took me a few days to look at my account online. During these few days I used the phone but did not try to access the internet. When I looked at the account I noticed that there was about 20kb of usage. I called verizon and they said that the phone is always trying to access the internet when the phone is on and that there is not a way to keep the phone fromdoing it.

gdpmumin
01-28-2007, 12:38 PM
I hope they were level-headed enough to drop the charges. And this may be where Blackberrys differ from other "smartphones." My boss has a Windows Mobile-based phone and doesn't use data. He requested that Verizon block anything and everything related to data on his account so an accidental usage or charge doesn't occur. He's been operating like that for a year and a half.

If they do that to a BlackBerry account, it seems that even if the device is looking for a data signal that it wouldn't find it and you wouldn't be charged.

Maybe I'm wrong though.

jshmb
01-30-2007, 10:17 PM
I just recieved the response from verizon concerning my problem and they say at this time they do not offer a data block for Blackberrys. So, if i want to use my blackberry I will have to pay for the data plan.