PDA

View Full Version : Vista & Office 2007 - Issues?


mjbanks
01-29-2007, 09:20 PM
I planned on upgrading my laptop to Vista and Office 2007. Are there any issues with Blackberry Desktop Manager? I have an 8703e (Verizon) with DM 4.1.1.9.

If anyone knows if this will work or not work, can you please let me know?

Thanks!

John Clark
01-29-2007, 10:26 PM
You'll need to use the latest version of DM 4.2.0.14 (I think .14). DM 4.1 won't work with Vista (don't use Vista myself, just read it here )

d_fisher
01-29-2007, 10:27 PM
I have been using my BlackBerry with Vista for a few weeks now. No problems at all. I am not using redirector but can create backups, load software, etc.

Not sure about Office 2007. Sorry.

mjbanks
01-29-2007, 10:33 PM
You'll need to use the latest version of DM 4.2.0.14 (I think .14). DM 4.1 won't work with Vista (don't use Vista myself, just read it here )

I can use 4.2 with the 8703e with no problems? I thought you needed OS 4.2 for that?

YMark
01-29-2007, 10:34 PM
Keep us posted on how the update goes.

mjbanks
01-29-2007, 10:35 PM
I have been using my BlackBerry with Vista for a few weeks now. No problems at all. I am not using redirector but can create backups, load software, etc.

Not sure about Office 2007. Sorry.

Are you using Desktop Manager 4.1? I'm holding off my upgrade until I can find out if there will be any issues.

d_fisher
01-29-2007, 10:42 PM
Are you using Desktop Manager 4.1? I'm holding off my upgrade until I can find out if there will be any issues.Nope, you have to use BDM 4.2 with Vista. BDM 4.2 can be used with any older BlackBerry. You just cant take advantage of any of the newer features.

mjbanks
01-29-2007, 10:47 PM
Nope, you have to use BDM 4.2 with Vista. BDM 4.2 can be used with any older BlackBerry. You just cant take advantage of any of the newer features.

Where can I download the newest BDM 4.2? Verizon's download site only has 4.1

John Clark
01-29-2007, 10:49 PM
BlackBerry - Sys Req v4-2 (http://na.blackberry.com/eng/services/desktop/req_4dot2.jsp)

mjbanks
01-29-2007, 10:52 PM
BlackBerry - Sys Req v4-2 (http://na.blackberry.com/eng/services/desktop/req_4dot2.jsp)

Terrific thank you!

Now just to see if anyone has any success with the final version of Outlook 2007...

mjbanks
01-29-2007, 10:54 PM
Terrific thank you!

Now just to see if anyone has any success with the final version of Outlook 2007...

Do I need to download both BlackBerry Desktop Software 4.2 and BlackBerry Device Manager 4.2?

Inphektion
01-29-2007, 11:07 PM
Terrific thank you!

Now just to see if anyone has any success with the final version of Outlook 2007...
I've been running office 2007 but use bes wireless sync. Have no issues but i haven't tried a manual sync with the desktop manager.

mjbanks
01-29-2007, 11:11 PM
I've been running office 2007 but use bes wireless sync. Have no issues but i haven't tried a manual sync with the desktop manager.

I would love a hosted BES, and I know it would solve my problems, but i just cant justify the $25 a month right now only for the wireless sync of PIM data

d_fisher
01-29-2007, 11:12 PM
Do I need to download both BlackBerry Desktop Software 4.2 and BlackBerry Device Manager 4.2?N0, Device Manager is part of Desktop Manager.

mjbanks
01-29-2007, 11:25 PM
N0, Device Manager is part of Desktop Manager.

Thanks! That solves the Vista end of the equation... now just for Office 2007...

I'd rather not just start installing and see what happens, since being able to sync my 8703e is crucial to my business.

billclark
01-29-2007, 11:29 PM
mj, I don't personally sync Office 2007 with Desktop Manager, but a friend of mine does sync his 7100i with Outlook 2007 on Vista with no problems thus far.

I'm using Vista Enterprise & Office 2007 Pro Plus and DM4.2...no complaints here except for an incompatibility with CryptMagic Desktop (not sure if it's in DM or Vista), so if you use CryptMagic + Desktop, be aware that it doesn't sync at this time.

-B

mjbanks
01-29-2007, 11:39 PM
mj, I don't personally sync Office 2007 with Desktop Manager, but a friend of mine does sync his 7100i with Outlook 2007 on Vista with no problems thus far.

I'm using Vista Enterprise & Office 2007 Pro Plus and DM4.2...no complaints here except for an incompatibility with CryptMagic Desktop (not sure if it's in DM or Vista), so if you use CryptMagic + Desktop, be aware that it doesn't sync at this time.

-B

That's good to hear! I will be running Vista Ultimate on my laptop and Office 2007 Enterprise (gotta love that MSDN subscription :smile: ). I'll probably install everything over the upcoming weekend, since I have way too much work to do this week to worry about a clean laptop install.

billclark
01-29-2007, 11:55 PM
Good luck with the installs! Vista's a breeze to install thanks to it's new image-based installation. Took less than 30 minutes on my laptop!

seaneboyee
01-30-2007, 01:55 PM
BB 8703e works fine with Office 2007 Professional Plus and USB sync. I haven't tried it yet with Vista Business though. I don't see it being a problem as long as you're using the latest version of DM like everyone else has advised.

mjbanks
01-30-2007, 02:00 PM
BB 8703e works fine with Office 2007 Professional Plus and USB sync. I haven't tried it yet with Vista Business though. I don't see it being a problem as long as you're using the latest version of DM like everyone else has advised.

Sounds good to me! I'm downloading DM 4.2 now.

Debating if I want to do an upgrade to Vista or a clean install...

seaneboyee
01-30-2007, 02:02 PM
I always recommend people doing a clean install if they have the option to.

mjbanks
01-30-2007, 02:08 PM
I always recommend people doing a clean install if they have the option to.

I usually do to, however it's going to be a ton of work to reinstall all my apps and data. I might try doing an upgrade for now and see how it goes, and can always do a clean install if it's not running well.

apostolous
02-01-2007, 05:41 AM
hi. im a new BB user with a 8700g on smart wireless (BIS) in the Philippines. on the pc i use outlook 2007 and it only synq my addresses? the BB office in Manila says my desktop manager is not compatible with 2007 and vista? any advice or updates available for me?

apostolous
02-02-2007, 10:02 PM
hi. im a new BB user with a 8700g on smart wireless (BIS) in the Philippines. on the pc i use outlook 2007 and it only synq my addresses? the BB office in Manila says my desktop manager is not compatible with 2007 and vista?

mjbanks
02-03-2007, 11:15 AM
hi. im a new BB user with a 8700g on smart wireless (BIS) in the Philippines. on the pc i use outlook 2007 and it only synq my addresses? the BB office in Manila says my desktop manager is not compatible with 2007 and vista?

I'm using Desktop Manager 4.2 with my 8703e on Vista Ultimate. I'm still using Outlook 2003, because I'm waiting for my Office 2007 to get here. I don't have any problems right now.

wibbly
02-08-2007, 06:11 PM
So...

The jury's still out on if the 4.2 desktop manager syncs all Outlook 2007 features properly (Calendar/Notes/Tasks/Contacts), right?

castolfo
02-09-2007, 04:01 PM
I'm using the Office 2007 Enterprise and i'm having no issues.. I did come out of the 2k7 beta where i had all sorts of issues with my email profile and errors not sync'ing etc..

contact me at chrisastolfo at hotmail.com if you find these errors.. in short you have to delete all your outlook legacy files or it completely fails..

that was a fun 3 days...

chris astolfo

uhel
02-12-2007, 06:02 PM
There's an easy workaround for this issue, please turn temporarily User Accounts Control to "Off" and you'll be able to install CryptMagic Desktop easily. A patched version will come soon.

mj, I don't personally sync Office 2007 with Desktop Manager, but a friend of mine does sync his 7100i with Outlook 2007 on Vista with no problems thus far.

I'm using Vista Enterprise & Office 2007 Pro Plus and DM4.2...no complaints here except for an incompatibility with CryptMagic Desktop (not sure if it's in DM or Vista), so if you use CryptMagic + Desktop, be aware that it doesn't sync at this time.

-B

BlackBurd
03-08-2007, 06:56 PM
If you send a doc created in 2007 (word or excel) the BB cannot open it. This has been confirmed even if you do a save as previous format or set Office 2007 to save as previous format. THANKS BILL!!!