PDA

View Full Version : 8800 Software code


BBAdmin
03-05-2007, 12:47 PM
I haven't come across another thread where someone has the 8800 software yet so here you go (version 4.2.1.73):

BlackBerry from O2 - Help and support (http://www.my-blackberryfromo2.com/8800software.asp)

If you don't have an O2 BlackBerry you will of course need to remove the vendor XML file before it will install on your device!

Bug fixes:

* The new handheld software includes full support and updated software for BlackBerry maps and route-planning service


* The new handheld software has much faster times for locking on to GPS satellites


* The new handheld software has various bug fixes included including some more significant items that may cause device resets (that was specific)!!!!!

Stinsonddog
03-05-2007, 12:55 PM
Hmm does this means Maps will load automatically. Wonder what version this is? Wonder if its the version that has the new features?

kasperapd
03-05-2007, 12:57 PM
The version number is just barely different from Cingular's (4.2.1.72). However, I always want to try out the new software.

BBAdmin
03-05-2007, 12:57 PM
Go for it. I'm so busy today I have not had the chance to look at it but figured some of my BlackBerry peers might!!!

WorldIRC
03-05-2007, 03:31 PM
I will try this out tonight...the routeplanner sounds good!

kasperapd
03-05-2007, 04:31 PM
Got everything downloaded, and then had to figure how how to modify the LBS.alx. Without doing that, BB Maps was not showing up in the App Loader. Went ahead and did the upgrade.... and I see no real difference. It's the same version of BB Maps that orginally came with the Cingular OS.

Lex Luthor
03-05-2007, 05:08 PM
For those of you who have downloaded the OS update when you charge your BlackBerry next can you post back and let me know if once your BlackBerry is charged does the indicator light turn to a solid green or does it continue to flash?

With the Cingular OS I have now I can charge my BlackBerry all night and the indicator light never turns to a solid green it just continues to flash. I hope an OS update corrects this.

bollar
03-05-2007, 05:25 PM
GPS acquisition is much faster -- first fix after reboot was 14 seconds, with relatively low accuracy of 23 meters. This leads me to believe that the GPS is now using cell tower assisted solutions. I need to experiment more, but this is great news, if so.

hf1khal
03-05-2007, 05:46 PM
GPS acquisition is much faster -- first fix after reboot was 14 seconds, with relatively low accuracy of 23 meters. This leads me to believe that the GPS is now using cell tower assisted solutions. I need to experiment more, but this is great news, if so.

23 meter, the fix inside my house with 4 Sats is at 5.23 meters with the original Cingular O/S. and it took 16 seconds.

bollar
03-05-2007, 06:00 PM
23 meter, the fix inside my house with 4 Sats is at 5.23 meters with the original Cingular O/S. and it took 16 seconds.

Immediately after a reboot?

After roughly 45 seconds, accuracy improves to what you're seeing.

hf1khal
03-05-2007, 06:12 PM
Immediately after a reboot?

After roughly 45 seconds, accuracy improves to what you're seeing.

Just tried it again with a fresh reboot, time 18 seconds, Sats5 accuracy 6.5 meters

ChrisBenson
03-05-2007, 06:16 PM
If I update my OS can I still use the same edited .alx file jibi posted for the Cingular OS so I can have access to the extra vendor themes or do I have to wait for jibi to post the update? I'm not confident enough to edit the .alx file myself.


:::CB:::

bollar
03-05-2007, 06:16 PM
Thanks. I will try again after it has been off overnight. That should ensure a cold acquisition.

kasperapd
03-05-2007, 06:28 PM
If I update my OS can I still use the same edited .alx file jibi posted for the Cingular OS so I can have access to the extra vendor themes or do I have to wait for jibi to post the update? I'm not confident enough to edit the .alx file myself.


:::CB:::

I would use a new one, there may be parts of the code that have changed and that may mess things up for you. The blackberry.alx is easy to modify yourself. Look at the one Jibi did for the Cingular OS, and mirror that on the themes section of the new balckberry.alx file. You'll also need to update the LBS.alx if you want to use BB Maps.

kasperapd
03-05-2007, 06:30 PM
Just tried it again with a fresh reboot, time 18 seconds, Sats5 accuracy 6.5 meters

I got 18 seconds, with 5 sats, and accuracy of 56.0m

Not very accurate in my opinion. It has been much better before. I'll have to keep an eye on that.

ChrisBenson
03-05-2007, 06:36 PM
I would use a new one, there may be parts of the code that have changed and that may mess things up for you. The blackberry.alx is easy to modify yourself. Look at the one Jibi did for the Cingular OS, and mirror that on the themes section of the new balckberry.alx file. You'll also need to update the LBS.alx if you want to use BB Maps.


Is that only for Cingular customers? I am on Rogers Wireless in Canada and when I downloaded BB Maps OTA I never edited the LBS.alx file or used the one posted by jibi. It worked for me automatically.

:::CB:::

kasperapd
03-05-2007, 06:38 PM
What version of BB Maps do you have? The one that is pre-loaded in the OS, but has to be unlocked is version 1.1.27

bollar
03-05-2007, 06:43 PM
I got 18 seconds, with 5 sats, and accuracy of 56.0m

Not very accurate in my opinion. It has been much better before. I'll have to keep an eye on that.

A cold-start GPS solution takes 30-45 seconds, but SiRF has several optional features in their chipset which can give a coarse solution faster. Any solution that takes less than 30 seconds is either a warm start (and using GPS data collected earlier), or is using one of SiRF's proprietary features. I was hoping a coarse solution could be generated from cell-towers, but SiRF says that would result in a <7 second solution -- which is subsequently augmented as GPS data is received.

ChrisBenson
03-05-2007, 06:51 PM
What version of BB Maps do you have? The one that is pre-loaded in the OS, but has to be unlocked is version 1.1.27


I downloaed 1.0.70 OTA as the link was posted in this thread:

http://www.blackberryforums.com/gps-mapping/65780-8800-google-telenav-ota-links-new-bbmaps-temp-till-updated-vers-released.html

I have found that in some of the newest residential neighborhoods in my city won't show up if I ask directions but other offices and places I go to if I want directions from my office to the destination I am heading to it will give me directions. If I enable the GPS it does work as I see the speed, my direction and the road numbers. What's the benefit or downloading the newer maps version? I never used the edit LBS.alx file as I thought that was only for Cingular users.


:::CB:::

John Clark
03-05-2007, 07:12 PM
If O2 allows BBMaps to be installed then this version will probably load BBMaps automatically (meaning lbs.alx is already configured for loading BBMaps). Has anyone confirmed this yet?

kasperapd
03-05-2007, 07:33 PM
I tried installing without modifying the LBS, and BB Maps did not appear in the App Loader. I cancelled the install, modified the LBS, and then BB Maps magically appeared in the App Loader. It's the same version as what comes on the Cingular OS.

WorldIRC
03-05-2007, 07:35 PM
Whats the route planner?

Stinsonddog
03-05-2007, 07:38 PM
I am guessing its the same GPS system in the two OS's. I thing the bug fixes related to earlier 4.2.1 versions. Why - no reason other than gut.

bollar
03-05-2007, 07:41 PM
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry 8800: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.0) BlackBerry8800/4.2.1 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/102)

If O2 allows BBMaps to be installed then this version will probably load BBMaps automatically (meaning lbs.alx is already configured for loading BBMaps). Has anyone confirmed this yet?

No, my BBMaps was uninstalled during the upgrade and I don't have an option to install it from the application loader.

kasperapd
03-05-2007, 07:45 PM
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry 8800: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.0) BlackBerry8800/4.2.1 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/102)



No, my BBMaps was uninstalled during the upgrade and I don't have an option to install it from the application loader.

You have to modify the LBS.alx and remove all the Vendor ID stuff.

dxbsam
03-06-2007, 03:22 AM
how do u remove the XML vendor files?:)

Lex Luthor
03-06-2007, 03:24 AM
To delete the Vendor.xml file go to C:/Program Files/Common Files/ Research In Motion/AppLoader

dxbsam
03-06-2007, 03:37 AM
how do u modify the BLS thingy and to what do u modify it too? lol :)

dxbsam
03-06-2007, 03:38 AM
i mean LBS sorry...

Lex Luthor
03-06-2007, 05:37 AM
It's posted in this thread: http://www.blackberryforums.com/gps-mapping/65780-8800-google-telenav-ota-links-new-bbmaps-temp-till-updated-vers-released.html

mdaoudi
03-06-2007, 11:56 AM
i guet this error message when i try to load the new os...
Unable to complete...
Unspecified error encountered [A:0x00000001]

richard371
03-06-2007, 01:20 PM
I went from 23 mb after a reboot with .72 to 27mb with .73. All my apps are still there. Only thing I did was unslect some of the languages. I left the 5 major ones. Have not had a chance to test anything else yet. I will report back any finds.

NJBlackBerry
03-06-2007, 01:30 PM
Well, I guess removing languages does save memory after all.

richard371
03-06-2007, 01:37 PM
They only showed like 90k each on the application loader and I only deselected about 5. I figure if you don't need them then unselect them. I have a lot of apps installed and still have 27mb free after reboot.

NJBlackBerry
03-06-2007, 01:43 PM
That's great...
Lanugages and Input Methods have always taken up extra room and are the number one cause of running out of space on a BB.

WorldIRC
03-06-2007, 01:48 PM
First thing I did was kill the languages when I got the berry. I am still debating the upgrade

dxbsam
03-06-2007, 04:31 PM
i have just did the upgrade.....GPS not working anymore.....any thoughts?

richard371
03-06-2007, 04:39 PM
Go out to an open area with clear view of the sky and give it about 5 min.

dxbsam
03-06-2007, 05:04 PM
nothing....

kasperapd
03-06-2007, 05:05 PM
Are you trying to use BB Maps? Did you modify the LBS.alx?

dxbsam
03-07-2007, 05:57 AM
no im just refreshing the GPS......i dont know how to modify :(

greggebhardt
03-07-2007, 06:25 AM
You people have a far greater sense of adventure that I!

I am scared to cause problems with what I perceive to be a great funtioning device. Keep it up though, if it works well for YOU, I might give it a try!

kasperapd
03-07-2007, 01:42 PM
no im just refreshing the GPS......i dont know how to modify :(

If you are using the original OS, go to this thread and use Jibi's modified LBS.alx

http://www.blackberryforums.com/ringtones-themes-wallpaper-discussion/28821-blackberry-alx-edited-files-packaged-theme-installation-4-1-4-2-only.html

If you just upgraded to the O2 OS, then you'll have to go in and modify the LBS.alx yourself. It's not that hard. Just look at the one Jibi modified, compare it to the current one, and make the appropriate changes. All you are doing basically is removing all references to Vendor ID.

Lex Luthor
03-07-2007, 08:11 PM
If jibi has a few minutes and can post a modified .alx file for themes and a modified LBS.alx file for the GPS I am sure many forum members who are afraid or hesitant to modify it themselves would appreciate it.

bollar
03-08-2007, 02:48 PM
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry 8800: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.0) BlackBerry8800/4.2.1 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/102)

I am guessing its the same GPS system in the two OS's. I thing the bug fixes related to earlier 4.2.1 versions. Why - no reason other than gut.

I was hoping there would be a fix in the API that allows calls to the "coarse mode" position, as mentioned in the InfoSpace thread, but no luck.

Acquisition time is about the same, and if you move the BlackBerry 1000's of miles, it takes several minutes to come up with a solution.

If it's a SiRF chipset inside, there's room for improvement.