PDA

View Full Version : Catastophic D: 7100i HELP ME!!! (OS)


sikeology
03-17-2007, 03:59 AM
SooooOooo my girl friends phone rescently got the "jvm 120" error and was completely out-of-commision. I like to consider myself pretty tech savy however I am completely stumped and i feel like i might've destroyed her phone so heres the story:
her phone got the error and i tryed to fix it
i'v seen on a couple of posts that if you wipe
the handheld (using JL_CMDER)
the next time you attach the phone to your computer
to sync up the operating system completely
reinstalls and bango....your phones ready to rock
i was imagining an ipod after you restore it
so i wiped her phone and now its showing me
the 507 with the polygon icons...which...means there is no OS
and wouldnt you have guessed
The phone infact does..Not.....reinstall the operating system
upon connection to PC
i'v been feverishly trying to get onto blackberry.com
But uh....that hasnt worked out for me either
so its 4:58...am and i need some help
can anyone bring some refreshing help to my eyes!?
lol thanks in advance
-James

ezrunner
03-17-2007, 05:31 AM
Wipe device with JL_CMDR before doing the following


1. Install Desktop Manager (You can skip this if it is already installed)
2. Install firmware package for your device on your pc (You can skip this if it is already installed)
3. Make sure Desktop Manager is not running
4. Start loader.exe for C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research in Motion\AppLoader
5. Click on Next in the Application Loader window
6. Remove the battery from your BB
7. Connect your BB to the USB cable
8. Reinsert the battery
9. The drop down list "Connection:" should now change from COM1 to either USB:UNKNOWN or USB:[BBPIN]. As soon as you see "USB:..." click on Next and Application loader should be able to reconnect to your device. Now you can reload the firmware.

As timing is important for this procedure, it can be possible that you will need to try multiple times Good luck

Give this a shot

wdduck
03-17-2007, 03:56 PM
You can also take the handset into a service center and they will replace it. You may have to wait for another a day or so but you won't have to worry about it again. They same thing just happened to mine.