PDA

View Full Version : Exchange Email and Calendar working, but not Contact and Notes


dgilman
03-20-2007, 10:02 AM
I seem to have Service Books for my Exchange Email and Calendar, but not Contacts or Notes.

Should Contacts and Notes be syncing wirelessly?

For those of you not keeping score, my Exchange stuff starting working mysteriously after IT hooked my Blackberry into the BES computer, and then told me it wouldn't register, because we're running 4.6. Then, mysteriously, Email and Calendar starting working wirelessly.

Thoughts?

RydeWitM3
03-20-2007, 01:18 PM
have you tried going under the options in the contacts and notes and turn off wireless syncing and then turn it back on??? also try re-activating if that doesnt work.

dgilman
03-20-2007, 03:55 PM
have you tried going under the options in the contacts and notes and turn off wireless syncing and then turn it back on??? also try re-activating if that doesnt work.

When I do this on the Desktop Manager, I don't have the option for "Blackberry Wireless" for Notes and Contacts - just calendar.

RydeWitM3
03-20-2007, 04:00 PM
You have to do it on the actual blackberry, not desktop manager. Go into your contacts on the Blackberry and then go to options, and turn the wireless sync off and then turn it back on. If it still won't sync, then try re-Activating your Enterprise service.

TIA

dgilman
03-20-2007, 06:23 PM
You have to do it on the actual blackberry, not desktop manager. Go into your contacts on the Blackberry and then go to options, and turn the wireless sync off and then turn it back on. If it still won't sync, then try re-Activating your Enterprise service.

TIA

Thanks for trying to help.

When I go Contacts|Options, I have
Sort By
Confirm Delete
Allow Duplicate Names
-----------------
Number of Entries

Am I missing something? I can't "redo" Enterprise Activation, because I don't think I ever did it. When I try to do over the air with my email and email password, it just hangs. When IT tried to do it by plugging the 8800 into the machine running BES, they said it wouldn't register properly...

cookes713
03-21-2007, 08:13 AM
what are the service books that you have on the device (ones that start off as desktop? (i.e., Desktop (Browserconfig)....
When you are in your service books (options, advanced options, service books), click on your desktop CMIME service book and for the UID field, do you see an email address or something beginning with S (S999999) {don't post the code, just peak and see}
What version of DM are you running?
What does it display under enterprise activation (options, advanced options, enterprise activation)?

takeshi
03-21-2007, 08:16 AM
For those of you not keeping score, my Exchange stuff starting working mysteriously after IT hooked my Blackberry into the BES computer, and then told me it wouldn't register, because we're running 4.6. Then, mysteriously, Email and Calendar starting working wirelessly.

Are you referring to the BES server or your PC with Desktop Manager?

I'd say try another Enterprise Activation. They can either send you a password or you can plug it into your PC if you're on the company network and have Desktop Manager installed.

dgilman
03-21-2007, 09:27 AM
what are the service books that you have on the device (ones that start off as desktop? (i.e., Desktop (Browserconfig)....
When you are in your service books (options, advanced options, service books), click on your desktop CMIME service book and for the UID field, do you see an email address or something beginning with S (S999999) {don't post the code, just peak and see}
What version of DM are you running?
What does it display under enterprise activation (options, advanced options, enterprise activation)?


Desktop|Alp
Desktop|CICAL
Desktop|CMIME

CMIME UID field starts with S*******

4.2.1.6 on MY desktop. 3.6 on the company server

It has a blank Email and Password Field, my pin, and says "Status: Not Activated".

But I confirm that my sent email items are syncing between the 8800 and my email, and the calendar is syncing wirelessly as well.

Odd, huh?

The brilliant guys in the IT department don't have the BES activation password to give me - they've always just connected a BB to the BES computer. When they did that with mine, they told me it won't take because the 8800 was too new.

But what do they know...

ZeroKool
03-21-2007, 09:43 AM
haha. That's funny. Actually, that sucks for you, sorry. They need to get to work, lazy bums.

There's nothing you can do until they figure out how 2 use the BES. Unless you have access to it.