PDA

View Full Version : What is the best method for blocking the Desktop Redirector?

parvizm
03-20-2007, 05:03 PM
As a BES Admin, I need to ensure we are not allowing users to use desktop redirector from their computers. If a user has a BES device, we want to make sure they're on our BES where we can manage them! :smile:

I'm trying to figure out the best method for blocking the desktop redirector but I'm getting mixed answers. RIM advised that we can block the address, network@<hidden>. However, when I looked at an example of desktop redirector messages in a user's mailbox I noticed one had a 'From' address of, network@<hidden>####.etp.na.blackberry.net, and the other had a 'To' address of, network@<hidden>.

Is blocking it based on address the best way? If so, what addresses do I use?
Is making use of an Active Directory GPO a possibility? If so, what do we use for the config?
Has any other BES admin had the same issue/concern or successfully implemented a solution??

THANKS!!

LunkHead
03-20-2007, 05:05 PM
No clue about BES..... But you might get a better response if you post this in the BES area :)

parvizm
03-20-2007, 05:18 PM
Ahhh thanks for the advice...first time posting and still trying to figure things out. I reposted in the technical section.

LunkHead
03-20-2007, 05:20 PM
Plenty of helpful and friendly folks there to get you on your way! :)

d_fisher
03-20-2007, 06:10 PM
I thought there was a BES policy that restricts the use of Desktop Redirector.

LunkHead
03-20-2007, 06:11 PM
You are probably correct Sir, I don't know jack about BES... :)

parvizm
03-21-2007, 09:28 AM
The problem is if they're not on our BES and using desktop redirector, how would I be able to apply any IT policies on their device?

What I'm looking for is a solution on how to lock down the environment. We also support the Exchange and AD environment so I would be able to implement e-mail address blocks and/or a GPO. Just a little unsure as to what exactly needs to be done...