PDA

View Full Version : 8703e - Sprint - GPS


Way3
03-22-2007, 03:02 PM
I have an 8703e with Sprint. Is there anyway to get GPS on the phone without having to subscribe / pay Sprint for their TeleNav? If so, what software would you recommend? Not looking for all the fancy GPS features.
Thanks in advance! :smile:

lifecast
03-22-2007, 04:42 PM
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry8703e/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/104)

Download bbmaps its free from blackberry.com/maps and it works with the internal GPS

lifecast
03-22-2007, 04:43 PM
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry8703e/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/104)

Download bbmaps its free from blackberry.com/maps and it works with the internal GPS

Way3
03-22-2007, 04:47 PM
Many Thanks! I will give it a try! (y)

jbairdjr
03-22-2007, 05:47 PM
You might find that it doesnt work with the internal GPS (it doesnt work with Alltel).

Way3
03-22-2007, 05:55 PM
Fortunately, I am with Sprint. Haven't installed it yet, but will post here to let everyone know if it works for me or not.
Thanks!

fizz
03-22-2007, 06:19 PM
it works with Sprint, I have the 8703e and use BBMaps all the time, it's free and great and great cuz it's free.

RealtorSMF
03-22-2007, 09:25 PM
Cool... does BBMaps give audible prompts? via BT headset?

MrX
03-22-2007, 10:12 PM
Cool... does BBMaps give audible prompts? via BT headset?nope

takeshi
03-23-2007, 08:25 AM
I'd really suggest using Mapquest Navigator instead. BBmaps is a pretty poor app IMO.

Way3
03-29-2007, 05:15 PM
BBMaps install quick and easy! Just what I was looking for! Basic vanilla GPS. There are probably features in there, but I haven't looked. Happy with it the way it was installed! Thanks for everyones help and advice here! :smile:

jvbeardsley
03-30-2007, 01:54 PM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/2.0 (compatible; MSIE 3.02; Windows CE; PPC; 240x320) BlackBerry8703e/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/105)

Has anyone had luck using the GPS with verizons 8703e? I activated it but in BBmaps, it just sits at "Searching for Signal". Sounds like I'm SOL.

jmandoman
03-31-2007, 10:07 AM
Works great on my Sprint 8703e. I've used it with Google Maps, Berry Maps, and Telenav without any problems. Tried Spot but I couldn't get it to display a map and when I was standing still, it would show me running around in random patterns at anywhere from 1 to 11 mph.

ofelas
04-01-2007, 05:48 PM
What do y'all suggest with a Verizon 8703e? BBMaps or Google Maps?

supermanfan
05-08-2007, 04:55 PM
Works great on my Sprint 8703e. I've used it with Google Maps, Berry Maps, and Telenav without any problems. Tried Spot but I couldn't get it to display a map and when I was standing still, it would show me running around in random patterns at anywhere from 1 to 11 mph.

You got the internal GPS to work with Google Maps on your Sprint 8703e? I've downloaded the latest Google Maps 1.5.1 and it doesn't recognize the internal GPS on my Sprint 8703e. A buddy tried with his Cingular 8800 and it work fine.

Any special tricks?

FroogleThis
05-08-2007, 05:34 PM
TeleNav for Sprint is sick. That thing saves me all the time.

Stupid Inner-Loop and Outer-Loop :X :X :X

nzomnia
05-09-2007, 08:41 AM
Wirelessly posted (BB 8703e: BlackBerry8703e/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/104)

Any updated info on getting google maps to work on Sprint 8703e? Thx

jhkaplan
05-09-2007, 08:49 AM
Mapquest offers a free download of the Mapquest Navigator for Sprint/Nextel users. So far, it's free and it doesn't look like it's a free trial. Works great and it gives audible voice prompts.

dwp1975
05-09-2007, 12:37 PM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/2.0 (compatible; MSIE 3.02; Windows CE; PPC; 240x320) BlackBerry8703e/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/105)

Has anyone had luck using the GPS with verizons 8703e? I activated it but in BBmaps, it just sits at "Searching for Signal". Sounds like I'm SOL.

If I am not mistaken, good ole' VZW has crippled GPS capabilities on the 8703e. They are good for crippling features on phones. I am convinced that if they could cripple "push" on a blackberry, they would.....lol

rawdizzy2
05-09-2007, 08:35 PM
I always find telenav, sucky on sprint 8703e. Which does you guys recommend for the best gps software? I seem to always loose signal or not find signal.

FroogleThis
05-10-2007, 01:22 PM
I always find telenav, sucky on sprint 8703e. Which does you guys recommend for the best gps software? I seem to always loose signal or not find signal.

It's probably just the area you're in/traveling around. I use TeleNav and it always works seamlessly, unless I go into a building.