PDA

View Full Version : Which Blackberry?

Breadman
03-25-2007, 11:33 AM
Hello, I am a Newbie to this forum and have a general question of sorts.
I have been a Windows mobile user for 6 years, and a palm user before that. Mycompany has currently changed over to blackberries and I would like to know the ins and outs of the 8700 vs the 8800. Which is better. Is the 8800 with GPS worth having and does the 8700 offer navigation via GPS as an add on? I am currently with TMobile . Thanks for any help sorting this out.

mgerbasio
03-25-2007, 11:47 AM
If you had been using a Windows Mobile device you may be disappointed. The BB has very limited third party software, the user interface isn't as pretty, it has limited functionality compared with WM with the latter offering better multimedia experience, html email, faster browsing. The BB is better at text based (no html), secure, email and centrally controlled services. The battery life is better with the BB too although it has been a couple of years since I used a WM device I've read the Q and Blackjack have horrible battery life not nearly making it through a day. You also won't have pocket office with a BB or the ability to sync files and view them on the BB like pdf, text, etc. although there are third party workarounds.

IMHO, the 8800 is better than the 8700 due to the GPS. The keyboard on the 8700 is better (for me I'm faster and less error prone with it), but the 8800 sound better both incoming and outgoing. I don't believe T-Mobile offers the 8800 yet so you'd have to get one unlocked. GPS navigation is via free BB Maps, which is worth what you pay for it, or for $10/mo using Telenav. Do a search and you'll find plenty of GPS information as there are other solutions being released soon. The best thing about GPS right now is Infoseek Find It, really cool.

The forum has plenty of information about the BB, just about anything you can think of has been asked and answered with lots of opinions attached.