PDA

View Full Version : 8703e internet... Very disappointed/ defective?

Stockmoose16
06-03-2007, 03:53 PM
Hi,

I'm new to BB, and just purchased the 8703e from Verizon. After reading many reviews, I came to conclusion that Verizon had a blazing fast EVDO network--though it probably only averages around 300kb/s.

Anyhow, I want to visit some simple sites, like Myspace, Gizmodo, Amazon, etc. and it's unbelievably slow. The front page of my space must take 3 min+ to load. I'm in the Los Angeles area, and my phone says "1xEV" in the corner, so I'm definitely on the high speed network. I'm so disappointed in this device, am I doing something wrong?

Also, on about 1/3 of the web pages, normal hyperlinks are greyed out, blocking me from accessing the information I want. Sometimes there's even a message at the top saying something about "page edited for browser"...

Somebody please help. There's no way 300kb is this slow, i've seen dial up that's faster than this.

Dubdub
06-03-2007, 04:09 PM
Well, I don't think dial up is faster than about 53.6 kbps. On average, EV-DO should be somewhere between 400-800 kbps with a max of 1.2 mbps or 3.1 mbps on Rev A. Since you didn't say how good your connection was, I would assume with 300 kbps, you have a decent connection.

That being said, your speed is a factor of several variables, such as the connection itself, device processor, available memory, distance to the tower and the congestion and number of users hitting the tower. Keep in mind that voice has the priority over data. And being in the LA area, I assume there are quite a few users hitting the towers for both voice and data.

Also, those sites you mention are not "simple", they are very graphics intensive and probably not optimized for mobile viewers. There is no way that you will get as fast as on a PC using EVDO, cable or DSL. You just don't have the real estate or horsepower to do so.

Stockmoose16
06-03-2007, 04:27 PM