PDA

View Full Version : Blackberry Curve with Cingular as modem

Hakmusic
06-06-2007, 06:18 PM
Does anyone know if the new Blackberry Curve offered by Cingular will function as a high-speed (mobile broadband) modem for a laptop?

Is there any special equipment or service I need to do this?

The Verizon guy told me that the Blackberry that they have can do this for a $10 a month fee, but the guy at the Cingular kiosk didn't seem to know if it would work on the Cingular system (which I'd like to stay on).

I am new to all this, so any help with really basic explanations would be much appreciated.

thanks.

Dubdub
06-06-2007, 06:55 PM
You shoudl be able to tether the Curve like you can with the 8700, 8800 and others. I suggest you do a search on "Tethering". It has probably been discussed many times. But since I don't use it, I am not much help.

Cingular offers a tethering plan to go with the BB dataplan which you will need, otherwise you might get hit with a very high data bill.

secrecyguy
06-06-2007, 08:06 PM
You can tether to the 8300 Curve but expect to pay a high price for it. Not worth it. If you planning to do it, I may suggest that you switch to T-mobile. You don't have to pay extra for tethering.

vincentnyc
06-06-2007, 09:19 PM
tmobile and cingular blackberry tether is not high speed. they uses edge. spring and verizon uses evdo. they are much higher speed and are considered "broadband" connection.

so the cons with tmobile and cingular:
1. not worth it cuz of the high price. even though u can do a hack so u dont have to pay for tether. i wont tell u cuz it is against the rules in this forum.
2. not worth it cuz how slow speed (almost like browsing with 56k modem back in the 90's)

Hakmusic
06-06-2007, 10:00 PM
For loading web pages (not playing videos or downloading big files), would the speed difference between Cingular and Verizon be significant?