PDA

View Full Version : if 8830's cdma and gsm can be simultaneous online?


yj060464
06-07-2007, 03:34 PM
if 8830's cdma and gsm can be simultaneous online?
thanks

Perfect Storm
06-07-2007, 03:36 PM
Huh?

dc/dc
06-07-2007, 04:02 PM
What does Marcellus Wallace look like?

John Clark
06-07-2007, 04:03 PM
No. The 8830 is CDMA only in the US and GSM overseas. The GSM frequency bands of the 8830 are 900/1800 and those are not used in the US.

yj060464
06-07-2007, 06:06 PM
thanks
by the way,singular's network is not the 900/1800 ?

dc/dc
06-07-2007, 07:51 PM
thanks
by the way,singular's network is not the 900/1800 ?

NO.

CINGULAR's network is 850/1900.

2 Samuel 22
06-07-2007, 08:43 PM
The 8830 will work on CDMA in North America and in countries overseas that also have CDMA networks.

The 8830 will work on GSM outside of North America in those countries with 900/1800 Mhz GSM/GPRS networks.

In both cases, coverage is only available where VZW/Vodafone have either their own network or roaming agreements with the local/regional wireless carriers.

I recently found out that there are certain countries where the 8830 will work on CDMA for voice only and no data coverage. However, by manually switching to the GSM network, in those specific countries, you may have data coverage, but no voice. Convoluted without a doubt but at least coverage is now available.

dc/dc
06-07-2007, 08:52 PM
The 8830 will work on CDMA in North America and in countries overseas that also have CDMA networks.

The 8830 will work on GSM outside of North America in those countries with 900/1800 Mhz GSM/GPRS networks.

In both cases, coverage is only available where VZW/Vodaphone have either their own network or roaming agreements with the local/regional wireless carriers.

I recently found out that there are certain countries where the 8830 will work on CDMA for voice only and no data coverage. However, by manually switching to the GSM network, in those specific countries, you may have data coverage, but no voice. Convoluted without a doubt but at least coverage is now available.

FOR THE LOVE OF BOB PEOPLE!!

The company's name is VODAFONE!!!!!!!

ofelas
06-07-2007, 09:00 PM
The 8830 will work on CDMA in North America and in countries overseas that also have CDMA networks.

The 8830 will work on GSM outside of North America in those countries with 900/1800 Mhz GSM/GPRS networks.

In both cases, coverage is only available where VZW/Vodaphone have either their own network or roaming agreements with the local/regional wireless carriers.

I recently found out that there are certain countries where the 8830 will work on CDMA for voice only and no data coverage. However, by manually switching to the GSM network, in those specific countries, you may have data coverage, but no voice. Convoluted without a doubt but at least coverage is now available.
2 Samuel 22 - any idea whether the VZW 8830 will work in India for data in EITHER CDMA or GSM mode? I'm going there next month on a business trip & BB data is quite crucial for me while I'm there.
Thx.

2 Samuel 22
06-07-2007, 09:29 PM
2 Samuel 22 - any idea whether the VZW 8830 will work in India for data in EITHER CDMA or GSM mode? I'm going there next month on a business trip & BB data is quite crucial for me while I'm there.
Thx.

IIRC, voice was available for the traveler who went there last year but you should contact VZW's Global Support to confirm voice/data coverage on the 8830: (908) 559-4899

ofelas
06-07-2007, 10:50 PM
I'm pretty certain that I can roam GSM & GPRS networks anywhere Vodafone has a roaming agreement, as the Verizon supplied SIM card is actually branded Vodafone.
Look what I found for Vodafone BlackBerry roaming users; so I guess I can use GPRS in India on AirTel -
BlackBerry International Roaming Information - O2 (http://www.airtimemanager.co.uk/blackberry/Enterprise/Coverage.aspx)
In addition, manually selecting the GSM providers' list within the 8830's options shows 6 different AirTel MNCs & MCCs available - so looks like I'm all set as far as theory goes...LOL.