PDA

View Full Version : Newbie with a silly question..please don't laugh!

pinkprincess1uk
05-12-2005, 12:21 PM
Hi, I will introduce myself here first. I'm a complete novice at Blackberry's unfortunately. I got my first one yesterday and I'm not having much luck. I've had a look around on this forum and on the user guide but can't seem to find the answers to my questions?
Ok, so I don't know what you need to know but I've got a 7290 on the O2 network (UK).
When i enter my pin and get into the menu options there is no browser button, and at the top it says data connection refused. Is there a reason it would do this? :cry:

SAS
05-12-2005, 12:32 PM
2 reasons 1) O2's relay to the rim server is down (very unlikely) 2) The profile on your account is incorrect (more likely) call o2 and get them to check the profile.

corey@12mile
05-12-2005, 12:32 PM
Sounds like your data activation on the SIM card hasn't completed yet... Maybe give O2 a call and make sure you have a Blackberry Data Plan on your SIM card.

cd.

corey@12mile
05-12-2005, 12:33 PM
SAS... Data connection refused means that the GPRS authentication has failed, which is long before a connection to the relay is needed.

cd.

pinkprincess1uk
05-12-2005, 12:35 PM
Thanks, I will try O2 again but its such a hassle because they know nothing and I can't speak to data support because you can only get them on a landline! The sim card should be ok because I rang up yesterday and got it activated, it registers O2 and I can make phone calls..

corey@12mile
05-12-2005, 12:39 PM
Then you most likely don't have the data plan on your sim card, something you have to call them for and confirm...

cd.

pinkprincess1uk
05-12-2005, 12:43 PM
Well i just rang, and I don't think she had a clue what she's talking about- thet've given me another number for blackberry queries, so i will try this...

pinkprincess1uk
05-12-2005, 12:44 PM
well that number doesn't work...great!

nobbie
05-12-2005, 12:46 PM