PDA

View Full Version : 3G, UMTS or HSPDA?

B747FR8DAWG
06-24-2007, 07:33 PM
I'm new to Blackberry products (8100 Pearl / T-Mobile) , but wanted to know if there is a Blackberry device that supports 3G, UMTS, HSPDA?

I used the search function for 3G and came up with nothing!

dc/dc
06-24-2007, 07:41 PM
The following devices are 3G:
7130e (CDMA 1xEVDO)
8703e (CDMA 1xEVDO)
8830 (CDMA 1xEVDO)
8707 (UMTS2100)

At this time, there are no HSDPA devices, and there are no UMTS devices that function in North or South America. Additionally, T-Mobile does not yet offer UMTS/HSDPA, and when they do it will be on totally different frequencies from the rest of the world.

Basically, if you want 3G speeds on your BlackBerry in the United States, you will need to switch to a CDMA provider.

Hope this helps.

B747FR8DAWG
06-25-2007, 05:05 AM
dc/dc,

Thanks for the information!

joginder
06-25-2007, 11:49 PM
dc/dc
I thought Dept of Defence just released the 2100 CDMA band and that will be 3G in US and it will be supported by almost all the providers. I thought this will be the same UMTS/3G band that will have automatic switching.
If you heard about the FMC (Fixed Mode Cellphones) they are trying to have every possible freq/bandwidth on device so that it can be sold independent of providers and people can own a device without worrying about the country/bandwidth.

Dubdub
06-26-2007, 07:41 AM
If its CDMA, my guess is that only Verizon and Sprint can use it. But I have not heard anything about it.

DoD doesn't control the frequency bands, BTW.

dc/dc
06-26-2007, 07:43 AM
dc/dc
I thought Dept of Defence just released the 2100 CDMA band and that will be 3G in US and it will be supported by almost all the providers. I thought this will be the same UMTS/3G band that will have automatic switching.