PDA

View Full Version : Change server type from IMAP to POP3

Dubdub
06-25-2007, 10:03 AM
I have a friend with a Sprint 8700 and he cannot receive email. We have narrowed it down to the server type. When he sets up his email in BIS, it automatically says it is an IMAP account, when in reality it is POP3, but there is no way to change it. Sprint Tech Support is no help.

He used the Enterprise Activation on the 8700. Could that be an issue? i have never used that way to set up a BB, so I have no background there.

Has anyone experienced a similar situation and have you found a solution.

My next guess is to elevate to RIM.

Any assistance is appreciated. Thanks

penguin3107
06-25-2007, 10:16 AM
I haven't tried this myself, but I heard it might work...

When you're setting up the email address in BIS, put in an incorrect password deliberately.
This will cause the setup to fail, and pop you into an 'advanced setup' where you might be able to select POP over IMAP.

Worth a shot.

Dubdub
06-25-2007, 10:21 AM
I haven't tried this myself, but I heard it might work...

When you're setting up the email address in BIS, put in an incorrect password deliberately.
This will cause the setup to fail, and pop you into an 'advanced setup' where you might be able to select POP over IMAP.

Worth a shot.

We tried that, but it wouldn't let us select the server type.

Thanks.

takeshi
06-25-2007, 10:36 AM
Did you actually get into advanced setup? You can also just leave out the password entirely.

Hmm, actually it looks like advanced setup changed for BIS 2.3 or something... IIRC you used to have more control over settings. Now it looks like even with advanced setup it tries to autodetect the account type.

Dubdub
06-25-2007, 11:59 AM
Did you actually get into advanced setup? You can also just leave out the password entirely.