PDA

View Full Version : Email on 8830 not working

jayman01
07-10-2007, 09:33 AM
I am new to Blackberry and trying to get my bosses email to deliver on his new 8830 World Edition BB. We run MS Exchange 2003. Here is what I have done so far.

1. Installed / configured BB Redirector - he uses Outlook XP
2. Setup associated email acct using his work email address. I received the verification email on his BB.

When I configured the email account on the BB it found our Exchange/IMAP server and all looks good. I want to make sure I'm not missing something cause emails are not delivering to the device???

Any help/info is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

JRSCCivic98
07-10-2007, 09:49 AM
Stop! If you're running Exchange 2003 then just use BIS. You'll have to get rid of the Redirector (uninstall and reinstall Desktop Manager with the Internet option). Then go to the email setup icon on the BB and fill in the info for the account on the Exchange server. If you're hosting your own internet email on the exchange server and also have OWA enabled and working to the outside world, this will work because BIS uses OWA conduits to get your email.

BTW, here's the link if you don't want to do the email setup through the email icon on the BB. https://bis.na.blackberry.com/html?brand=vzw Be aware that this link is for Verizon customers.

jayman01
07-10-2007, 09:53 AM
Thanks, but a couple of quick questions.

1. What is BIS (sorry)
2. We have OWA but only allow through VPN - no outside world. Does this change things?

Can I still make this work?

Thanks-

JRSCCivic98
07-10-2007, 09:59 AM
Thanks, but a couple of quick questions.

1. What is BIS (sorry)
2. We have OWA but only allow through VPN - no outside world. Does this change things?

Can I still make this work?

Thanks-

1) Blackberry Internet-email Service (the link I gave you).