PDA

View Full Version : 7230 locks when making phone call if wireless is off


mc_76
05-22-2005, 11:05 PM
We have just upgraded to V4 for BES exchange and our handhelds (7230's &7290's). We have allowed in the policy to place a call while locked.

If the phone is unlocked, it prompts first to turn the radio on when trying to make a call, but we have found that if the wireless is turned off, and you try to place a call while the handheld is locked, it says "please wait" with the hourglass (not moving) and freezes. Soft reset only brings it back to same screen. We have to remove the battery, to unlock it.

Has anybody else come across this? Is there a fix?

rsun
05-23-2005, 10:47 AM
What version of 4.0 do you have on your 7230's? We found that the .188 code was much more stable then anything else.

mc_76
05-23-2005, 04:40 PM
We are using .188.

This is the name of the installer we downloaded.

7200E_PBr4[1].0.0_rel224_PL1.6.1.49_A4.0.0.188-Telstra

As you can see it is up to date software. Is any one else able to reproduce this error?

NJBlackBerry
05-23-2005, 05:11 PM
Since you are using Telstra branded code, I assume you are in Australia, correct?

I have never seen this particular error...

rsun
05-23-2005, 05:36 PM
I just tested it on our 7230 and it's working. We used the CSL version of the 4.0.0.188 code, but shouldn't be that much different. Just to confirm, have you tried wiping a device completely so that it's not set up on your BES, and then try to make the call?

mc_76
05-24-2005, 04:47 PM
Yep in Australia. I have tested it on 2 of our 7230's. Also I rang the Telstra Blackberry helpdesk and they said that this is an issue they have heard of and the solution is a hard reset! Not quite as user frindly as I would like but that's the breaks.

As all of our Blackberrys are on BES, with security policy's pushed out to them, testing on a non-BES 7230 will probably not give a true indication of why it locks with BES. Thanks for your input though guys, but I think as the helpdesk said, watch out for updated handheld frimware in the future that may (or may not) fix this problem.