PDA

View Full Version : If I get a new BB, will my BES administrator know?

njbenny
07-31-2007, 05:01 PM
I love my BB 8700 but our company is slowly moving to windows mobile. Currently, if you need a new PDA they make you get a windows mobile device. My 8700 is pretty hopelessly damaged, and I was wondering if I went on my own and bought a new or refurb 8700 (at my own expense) and put my current SIMM card in the new device - would our IT people need to do anything to activate the device in the BES server? (In other words can I switch devices and not get caught?)

ladydi
07-31-2007, 05:08 PM
Yes, you could possibly get away with it. You could tell them that you accidentally wiped the device and need a new activation password. then just activate the new BB.

As an BES Admin, I have to tell you not to do that. If they keep inventory of the PIN's, they will know you switched it. If it is a corporate device and not a personal one, I really recommend you not do that because you could be fired. Good luck and sorry to hear about the windows mobile thing.

ShaneToronto
07-31-2007, 06:52 PM
/snip/
As an BES Admin, I have to tell you not to do that.
/snip/

Did you have to take an oath? 8-)

mebiuspower
07-31-2007, 07:03 PM
Don't kid yourself, BES admin can see everything on your BB user account.

Yeah, ask me how I know. ;-)

Berry One
07-31-2007, 07:10 PM
I love my BB 8700 but our company is slowly moving to windows mobile. Currently, if you need a new PDA they make you get a windows mobile device. My 8700 is pretty hopelessly damaged, and I was wondering if I went on my own and bought a new or refurb 8700 (at my own expense) and put my current SIMM card in the new device - would our IT people need to do anything to activate the device in the BES server? (In other words can I switch devices and not get caught?)

Ask yourself what is more important to you: a brand of a PDA or your job and do what is right for you.

LovingMyBB
07-31-2007, 07:16 PM